Mafia & Fluxy Presents ~ From R&B To Reggae Volume 3
Mafia & Fluxy / Cou$ins Records - Black Arrow
January 23, 2009

Track list
  1. Take A Bow - Toria
  2. Superwoman - Adele Harley
  3. Go On Girl - Chancellor
  4. With U - Roger Robin
  5. No Air - Adele Harley & Leroy Mafia
  6. Sweetest Girl - Chancellor
  7. Body Body - Mike Anthony
  8. Sensual Seduction - Kofi
  9. Stepping Stone - Toria
  10. Miss Independent - Mike Anthony
  11. Deep Inside - Sylvia Tella
  12. Apologise - Roger Robin
  13. I Remember - Toria
  14. I'll Do Anything - Kofi
  15. Talk About It - Sylvia Tella
  16. September - Richie Davis
  17. Independent - Troublesome
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 3/4 Sleeve : 3
The latest release on Cou$ins Records comes courtesy of Donville Davis' real life cousins (pun intended), North London singers, musicians and producers Mafia & Fluxy who once more reggaefied with some very fine vocalists 17 of the biggest R&B hits for their "From R&B To Reggae Volume 3", a more than worthy successor to last year's extremely strong "From R & B To Reggae Volume 2". The first tune not only shows that Mafia & Fluxy are true masters when it comes to reggaefying pop and R&B tunes, but also in spotting extremely talented UK female singers as to me still relatively unknown female singer Toria (who I only heard before on their earlier "From R & B To Reggae Volume 2") gives us a wonderful rendition of Rihanna's "Take A Bow" and that if England were in need for a white souldiva not doing the amount of drugs that Amy Winehouse (ab)uses, Adele Harley could step up, as her rendition of Alicia Keys' "Superwoman" proves (and she already excelled with her take on "No One" on Volume 2).

Adrian 'Kenz' McKenzie a.k.a. Chancellor who also plays the other instruments alongside Mafia's bass and Fluxy's drums as well as coproducing his version of Ne-Yo's "Go On Girl" is finally getting the attention he deserves as a great UK singer (and musician), followed by Roger Robin who once again showcases his great voice and superb delivery with Chris Brown's "With U", Leroy Mafia teaming up with Adele Harley for their fabulous take on the Jordan Sparks / Chris Brown combination "No Air" and Chancellor with his second tune on this album using the very nice Wyclef Jean / Akon combination "Sweetest Girl" to full effect.

Mike Anthony adds some extra sweetness to R. Kelly's "Body Body" and then UK loversrock veteran Kofi gets vocodered heavily for her twist on Snoop Dogg(!)'s "Sensual Seduction" and Toria's distinctive UK-style vocals are heard on her second contribution to this album "Stepping Stone", originally a hit for Duffy. Ne-Yo's "Miss Independant" even appears in 2 versions on this album, the first of these is the more traditional approach by Mike Anthony before UK lovers rock icon Sylvia Tella delivers a fabulous version of Mary J. Blige's "Deep Inside" followed by Roger Robin's stunning "Apologise" outperforming the sensational Timbaland original featuring One Republic.

Keyshia Cole's "I Remember" is Toria's third tune on this album - and she deserves voicing every single one of them - before "I'll Do Anything" a.k.a. "I'm Sorry" by Ginuwine gets the reggae treatment by Kofi and Sylvia Tella does "Talk About It", her take on Changing Faces' "Visit Me". Richie Davis again shows his fondness for and skills to cover Barry White tunes with a great rendition of the big man's "September" and then Troublesome brings this album to a close with the second (this time heavily vocodered) version on this album of (Miss) "Independant" This album again combines Mafia & Fluxy's riddim-building & production skills to reggaefy pop and R&B tunes with some very fine (UK) vocalists to guarantee almost 70 minutes of pure listening pleasure.