Fundamental Reggae Vol. 01
Crazy Joe Records
November 26, 2005

Track list
  1. Jimmy London - Bridge Over Troubled Water
  2. Mighty Diamonds - Gypsy Woman
  3. Rudy Thomas - Lovin' Pauper
  4. Jackie Brown - I Will
  5. Carl Dawkins - Satisfaction
  6. Horace Andy - Baby I Love You
  7. Beverly Bailey - I Was In Love
  8. Rudy Thomas - Mama Says
  9. Brent Dowe - Sweet Sensation
  10. Hortense Ellis - Can't Stand The Rain
  11. Wayne Wade - After You
  12. Gregory Isaacs - Too Young
  13. Jackie Brown - Winey Winey
  14. George Dekker - Israelites
  15. Lloyd Parks - Kung Fu Fighting
  16. Errol Dunkley - Please Stop Your Lying
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 2/3
"Fundamental Reggae Vol. 1" collects sixteen tunes that were recorded between 1967 and 1986 for Joe Gibbs & Errol Thompson a.k.a. The Mighty Two and Sidney Crooks & Joe Gibbs (tracks 5, 6, 9, 12 and 13). On this set Joe Gibbs & the Professionals along with Lloyd Parks & We The People Band provide the backing for Gregory Isaacs, Horace Andy, and the Mighty Diamonds -- artists who have played a major role in reggae history -- as well as for those who were less successful but nevertheless had some serious impact on the local scene like for example Errol Dunkley, Hortense Ellis, and Jackie Brown.

This fairly decent compilation set mainly features the more romantic records that were produced for the blues-dances market. Even though long term reggae fans will be familiar with tunes like the Mighty Diamonds' "Gyspy Woman", Rudy Thomas'"Loving Pauper", and Gregory Isaacs' "Too Young" (later re-recorded and re-titled "My Only Lover"), this cd also contains a few rare tunes. One of them is "Israelites" by Desmond Dekker's half-brother George Dekker (a.k.a. Johnny Melody and member of The Pioneers, The Slickers and the duo Winston & George). Furthermore there's Beverly Bailey's beautiful "I Was In Love", which surprisingly comes across a heavy roots riddim. Other highlights include Rudy Thomas' "Loving Pauper", Wayne Wade's "After You", Gregory Isaacs' gorgeous "Too Young", Horace Andy's "Baby I Love You", Carl Dawkins' "Satisfaction" and Errol Dunkley's rocksteady tune "Please Stop Your Lying".

Despite weak tracks like Lloyd Parks' "Kung Fu Fighting", Hortense Ellis' "Can't Stand The Rain" and Jimmy London's cover of the Simon & Garfunkel hit "Bridge Over Troubled Water" -- there must have been far better (rare) cuts to chose from mr. Gibbs' vaults! -- there's enough worthwhile material featured here that will be enjoyed by the mature reggae fan.