Various artists album review
The Rootsman Presents Futurapocalyptic Dub
Lush Records
10 - 06 - 1998

Tracking list

  1. Strong point - We come in peace
  2. The Rootsman - Cheb ragga
  3. Dayjah and the Disciples - L.s.f.r.
  4. The Rootsman - Into the light
  5. The Rootsman meets Celtarabia - Valley of the kings
  6. Ooochi - Twisted roots
  7. The Disciples meet The Rootsman - Bless them
  8. The Rootsman - Old pan killer
  9. Dayjah and the Disciples - Gather together
  10. Dayjah and the Disciples - Dubbing together
  11. The Rootsman - Mother of nature
  12. The Rootsman meets Dub Chandra - Beyond the border
  13. Pachakuti - Sumatra
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3/4

This nice compilation album gathers dubs from the U.K. based Third Eye Music label. All songs have been either unreleased or have been remixed 'with an innovative spin of the original song'. These dubs are not merely instrumental remixes of vocal cuts, but more or less standalone tracks, dub for dub's sake. The one exception is 'Gather Together' by Dayjah and the Disciples, which is a vocal track, followed by the dub 'Dubbing Together'.
The label is owned by The Rootsman, who delivers four solo cuts and three combination tracks. As experimental as you would expect from a UK dub crew, the tracks bear influences from Asian, Arabian and African sounds, tearing down musical boundaries. On the other hand it's easy to track down the Jamaican influences as well.
These forward pulsing dubs, with plenty effects, make a pleasant and enjoyable album, even if you're not a dub fan.
A solid dub showcase from the Third Eye label !

Teacher & Mr. T.