Ganja Morning Riddim
Green Lion Crew
Digital Release
October 19, 2015

Track list
  1. King Mas - As I Rise
  2. Mikey General & Mr Williamz - Ganja Morning
  3. Green Lion Crew feat. King Mas - Rise Up Dub
  4. Green Lion Crew feat. Mikey General & Mr Williamz - Steam & Chant Dub
  5. Green Lion Crew - Ganja Field Dub
  6. Green Lion Crew - Ganja Morning Riddim
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5
Zeke Stern, aka Green Lion, is a deejay, producer and radio host based in New England U.S. as well as co-founder (with Dana 'Chai' Knowles) of the Green Lion Crew sound system. As a record label they made an impressive debut with "Come Down" by Collie Buddz and soon other releases followed. The "More Spiritual" riddim, an updated version of Eek-A-Mouse's "Ganja Smuggling" hit tune, did good business, as well as the "Rough Road" riddim. Their recent release is the 'one riddim' six track EP "Ganja Morning Riddim". The riddim is built around Desi Roots' 1979 classic track "Weed Fields" and primarily recorded in Kingston Jamaica. The combination of a traditional reggae riddim, functional dub layers and hip hop ingredients make this riddim highly enjoyable.

The blazing killer tune "As I Rise" by King Mas is an appropriate album opener. King Mas aka MaSicker is a native of Boston, Massachusetts, born to Caribbean parents. He has performed in and outside the U.S., from Norway to Germany to South Africa, touching Lebanon in between. He has previously released an album independently, entitled "One Wish". Next comes a fine duo, well known roots singer Mikey General and dancehall artist Mr. Williamz. Born in Jamaica and growing up in England, Williamz burst onto the reggae scene in 2008 with his debut single "Babylon In Helicopter". The interaction between them is 100% flawless and delivers an above average tune. So far for the vocal cuts. The dubs are special treats and should be played at max volume. Standout selection here is the dub reworking of "Ganja Morning" aptly named "Steam & Chant Dub". The "Ganja Field Dub" is built around the melodica melody and the EP rounds off with the instrumental version.

Well worth checking out!