Various artists album review
Garnett Silk & DJ's Rule Thing
Rhino Records-U.K.
31 - 07 - 1997

Tracking list

  1. Garnett Silk - Jump up a we rule
  2. Nandi & The Upsetters - Man shortage
  3. Dennis Alcapone & John Holt - In the middle of the night
  4. Tulloch T - Mompy
  5. King Kong - Big big surprise
  6. Trinity - The sound leads the way
  7. U.Brown - Let love shine bright
  8. Dillinger & Johnny Clarke - Babylon yard
  9. Jah Stitch - Strictly rockers
  10. Dennis Alcapone & Jimmy Riley - False prophet
  11. U.Roy & Slim Smith - Love I bring
  12. Dennis Alcapone & Delroy Wilson - Hit me mock
  13. U.Roy & Delroy Wilson - Keep on rocking & swinging
  14. Tappa Zukie - Musical treasure
  15. Sir Marcus & the Aggrovators - Sure Shot
  16. Sir Marcus & the Aggrovators - The people's voice
  17. I.Roy - Rub a little further
  18. Papa San - Nice up the nation
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 3/4 Sleeve : 3

Mixing cuts from the earliest days of deejay (like U.Roy's "Love I bring" over Slim Smith's soulful interpretation of "Ain't too proud to beg") with more recent cuts from King Kong and Papa San, this album presents a wide selection of artists and eras with the emphasis on the dj stylee. The combination records, like Tappa Zukie's "Musical Treasure" over Horace Andy's "My guiding star" and Dillinger's "Babylon yard" over Johnny Clarke's "Give me a love" score best, but deejays from Trinity to Tulloch T, all get a shot on this one spanning several decades and styles of deejay. Production credits go to "Mafia & Fluxy & the winning team", although they were probable too young at age when the majority of these songs were recorded. It would have been more polite to give producers such as Lee "Scratch" Perry and Bunny "Striker" Lee all the credits they deserve. But nevertheless this is a thoroughly enjoyable and interesting historical compilation.

Teacher & Mr. T.