General Key Riddim
Oneness Records
May 16, 2008

Track list
  1. Gideon Road - Prince Malachi
  2. Love Music - Ginjah
  3. Unity - Conscious Fyah
  4. Dein Dein Dein - Nosliw
  5. More Love - Naptali, Lutan Fyah & Arofat
  6. Great Spirit - Jahcoustix
  7. Soul Deep - Mark Wonder
  8. Respetala - Caramelo Criminal
  9. Cyaan Reach - Junior Kelly
  10. Leaders - Prezident Brown
  11. Lately - Marlene Johnson
  12. Oneness - Tippa Irie
  13. About Love - Queen Ifrica
  14. Not Scared - Crystal Axe & Ray Darwin
  15. Love & War - Jah Tiger
  16. General Key Version - Moritz 'Da Baron' von Korff & the Oneness Band
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Oneness Records' 'General Key'-riddim is the second riddim on this German label after the 'Oneness'-riddim and the first one that is also released as a great one riddim album. The first tune by Prince Malachi is surprisingly singjayed, but it's a pleasant surprise as it's very well done making "Gideon Road" a strong album opener followed by Ginjah's smashing "Love Music" and Headcornerstone frontman Conscious Fiyah delivers a fine plea for Oneness and "Unity", before Nosliw delivers his beautiful loverstune in German "Dein Dein Dein" that is one of the standout tracks on this album for me.

Jamaican born, but currently (at least partially) in Germany residing newcomer Naptali, 'young-veteran' Lutan Fyah and another young Jamaican talent Arafat a.k.a. Arofat team up for the uplifting "More Love" followed by the these almost omnipresent on European roots releases Dubios Neighbourhood singer and solo artist Dominik 'Jahcoustix' Haas who impresses once more with "Great Spirit" and Mark Wonder, who has yet to gain the recognition he in my opinion more than deserves, with the extremely smooth song of praise "Soul Deep".

The underrated Raggabund and Babacools South-American brothers Caramelo Criminal in their own inimitable style contribute the wonderful "Respetala" in Spanish before Junior Kelly delivers his less strong "Cyaan Reach" before Prezident Brown calls upon the "Leaders" of the world and Frankfurt based reggae, soul and club songbird Marlene Johnson sings with a touch of UK lovers rock the wonderful loverstune "Lately" before the always impressive UK fast rapping (and popchart) legend Tippa Irie pays tribute to the feeling that the label this album is released on stands for with the upful "Oneness".

Queen Ifrica's output has consistently been at a very high level over more than a year and her "About Love" absolutely is no exception, followed by the great sweet voiced Jamaican born female singer Crystal Axe teaming up with Ray Darwin for the wonderful loverstune "Not Scared" and the last vocal tune on this album "Love & War" in true oldschool style by Port Antonio, Jamaica and Germany based Jah Tiger. The last tune is Dubios Neighbourhood bassplayer Da Baron and Dubios Neighbourhood producer Umberto Echo with the Oneness Band and their clean "General Key Version" of this very cleverly built riddim paying tribute to both the early 80s (with its Johnny Osbourne / King Jammy's 1983 "Water Pumpee" organ accents) and earlier reggae. A very nice album that you should definitely check out.