Genesis Riddim
Cou$ins Records - Black Arrow
April 15, 2008

Track list
  1. Life Ain't Easy - Gyptian
  2. Bun Dem Selassie - Lutan Fyah
  3. Youth Dem Dangerous - Luciano
  4. Your Love - Jah Mason
  5. Hold Dem On The Wire - Chrisinti
  6. Rasta Forever - Turbulence
  7. Changes - Bobo Zaro
  8. Gave Jah My Heart - Bobby Tenna
  9. Positive Words - Ginjah
  10. Children Of The Sun - Culture Knox
  11. Never Turn Away From Jah - Norris Man
  12. Love Is Here - Spanner Banner
  13. Only Jah Love - Mikey General
  14. Hey Baby - Anthony Q
  15. Genesis Riddim
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Cou$ins Records producer Donville Davis - who had already proven he's capable of relicking classic riddims in fine style - also showed a nose for picking the right riddims to license on the three various artists compilations, as "Strictly One Drop Vol. 1"'s inclusion of CJ James 'Without Love'-riddim and of course Donovan 'Vendetta' Bennett's 'Heavenly' and then on 'Mo-Bay' & 'Desperate Lover' two riddims from Byron Murray's In The Streetz label were featured, strange as it may seem with In The Streetz not only being an outlet for Byron Murray's own productions, but through their Rhythm Streetz Series Byron Murray (and Mr. Vegas) also released on CD and LP some extremely successful riddims by other extremely hot producers.

Cou$ins Records kicked off a new series of one riddim instead of two riddim albums called Ride The Rhythm with "Hail The I" featuring the first riddim on the Riddim Kings label produced by Stefan & Sean Shelton a.k.a the Riddim Kings and then one month later they returned with a string of one drop releases licensed from Kemar 'DJ Flava' McGregor's Flava Music and No Doubt Records. Kemar McGregor, who of course cemented his name as one riddim producer with the 'Triumphant'-riddim backing Gyptian's "Mama" and then chipped in with the nice 'Road Block'-riddim and the very nice various combination album aptly titled "Combination" provided Cou$ins with the three excellent one-riddim albums "Trumpet", "Flute" and "Key Riddim" with three volumes in the Ride The Rhythm series in just 8 days.

And Greensleeves, who seemed to have stalled their one drop one riddim releases just like the (dancehall) Greensleeves Rhythm Album series, must have felt they missed out on one too many album there, thus suddenly breaking the Cou$ins connection and releasing the very successful '83 Rhythm' to have their link taken over now already after one album for the release of Kemar McGregor's latest 'Rub-A-Dub'-riddim by VP Records in their still running Riddim Driven series. And Donville Davis now presents in his Ride The Riddim the second riddim by Chris(topher) Hart - who debuted alongside Money Mike as L.Y.N.K.Z. Movement late last year with the dancehall-tinged 'Summerise'-riddim -, the brilliant 'Genesis'-riddim.

Gyptian opens this album with the excellent "Life Ain't Easy" that was together with the Luciano tune included on the "JA 2 UK Volume 4" compilation and the first time I heard this truly magnificent riddim, before Lutan Fyah takes over with the strong "Bun Dem Selassie" and Luciano with his very inspired "Youth Dem Dangerous". Jah Mason thanks his girl for her the strength her love gives him in "Your Love", followed by one of Chrisinti's best tunes ever "Hold Dem On The Wire" and Turbulence telling us he's a "Rasta Forever". Newcoming singjay Bobo Zaro calls for "Changes" and then talented up and coming singer Bobby Tenna partly autotunes through the beautiful "Gave Jah My Heart" showing how strong his voice is in the non-autotuned parts.

Ginjah has over the last 12 months become a household name on roots selections, finally completely fulfilling the high expectations that rose during his early Harmony House days as "Positive Words" proves, before late 90s early 2000 Kariang artist Culture Knox (the son of 'Free I' Dixon) delivers the very fine "Children Of The Sun" and Norris Man like Bobby Tenna actually profits from the autotune in his strong "Never Turn Away From Jah". One of the three well known Bonner brothers (the others being Richie Spice and Pliers) Spanner Banner sings the wonderful love song "Love Is Here", followed by Mikey General's "Only Jah Love" and the last vocal tune on this album, the outstanding "Hey Baby" by Anthony Q before this brilliant "Genesis Riddim" is featured in its clean version, showcasing the talent of Chris(topher) Hart as producer and Donville Davis ability to pick fine fresh roots riddims to release in Cou$ins Records' Ride The Riddim series. You should try to grab this very fine release.