Various artists album review
Ghetto Slam
Walboomers Music / Jamdown Records
2 CD
03 - 04 - 2000

Tracking list

DISC 1 (Ghetto Slam riddim)
  1. Intro - Andrea, Baya, HC & JP
  2. Let's Get It On - Megga Banton (featuring Cecile)
  3. Whatever Comes... To My Mind - Tanto Metro & Devonte
  4. Lots A Money... Lots A Girl Friends - Beenie Man
  5. Silent River - Nadz, Danny English, Cecile
  6. Nuh Mek It - Spragga Benz & Tanya Stephens
  7. Turn It On - Red Rat
  8. Fat Gal - Madd Anju
  9. Wuk Yuh Gal - Goofy
  10. Breed Again - Young Prince & Real T
  11. Just Like We - Psycho Kid & Jim Screechy
  12. Ghetto Slam (Instrumental Version)
  13. Mega Mix (Bonus Track)
DISC 2 (Aftermath riddim)
  1. Intro - Horace & Cecil
  2. Freddy - Tanya Stephens
  3. How Yuh So Lie - Tanto Metro & Devonte
  4. Cuts Like A Knife _ Mark Ice
  5. Gal Dem A Request We - Sean Paul
  6. Starting Over - Real T
  7. Move - Red Rat & Madd Anju
  8. Red Fat Cherry - Goofy
  9. Rich Old Women - Psycho Kid & Jim Screechy
  10. It's All Done Now - Young Prince & Real T
  11. No Shegery - Young Prince
  12. Aftermath Riddim (Instrumental Version)
  13. Mega Mix (Bonus Track)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4/5

The follow up to Jamdown Records last years 'Ruff Neck' double cd is called 'Ghetto Slam'. This double album is packed with 22 tunes and two MegamMix bonus tracks. It includes two of the hottest riddims (Ghetto Slam and Aftermath) which is currently receiving a lot of attention in Jamaica. Production credits go to the combination Richard Carnegie and Horace Lawrence.
The stage is set with the infectious dancehall riddim that combines a hip-hop flavor. This is achieved by enlisting super producer Paul Lewis and Art Terrell of Dynamic Duo Production (whose credits includes production of 'Freak It', the hit single off the album 'So So Def Bass All Stars Vol. II' , the remix of Capleton’s 'Tour' and the remix of Beenie Man’s 'Slam') to create a danceable riddim that will appeal to the dancehall public all over the world.
With the perfect riddim in place JamDown Records enlisted some of the most in demand dancehall artists, to contribute to this album. Artists such as: Beenie Man with Lots A Money ....Lots A Girlfriend is immediately addictive. He brags of his accomplishments with money, girls and parties. Nowadays hottest dancehall/reggae duo Devonte & Tanto Metro, who teamed up for their # 1 hit in 1998 'Everyone Falls In Love' is also featured on both the Ghetto Slam riddim and the Aftermath riddim with the tracks Whatever Comes To My Mind and How Yuh So Lie. Silent River is a hip-hop dancehall track performed by Cecil, Nadz and Danny English.
The first ever combination with deejay Spragga Benz and Tanya Stephens results in the track Nuh Mek It, which will continue to solidify them as two of the best deejays. Tanya Stephens also appears on the Aftermath riddim with her hit Freddy as she talks about here boyfriend (Freddy) lack of performance in the bed. Another hit on the aftermath riddim is Gal Dem A Request We performed by the international acclaimed Sean Paul, whose debut set 'Stage One' gets rave reviews all over the world. Newcomer, Mark Ice holds his own against these top artists with Cuts Like A Knife. The one and only Goofy is also featured on this album with the tunes Wuk Yuh Gal and Red Fat Cherry. Other outstanding tunes found here include Red Rat's Turn It On and Move in wicked combination with Madd Anju. Megga Banton, featuring Cecile, puts out a solid tune entitled Lets Get It On. In addition, this album includes two bonus tracks. ‘The MegaMix’ a must for the avid dancehall fans!

Teacher & Mr. T.