Give Thanks ~ One Riddim 19 Songs
August 13, 2007

Track list
  1. Inity Is A Must - Ephraim Juda
  2. Guide & Protect - Martin Jondo
  3. The Right Way - Mellow Mark
  4. Keine Macht Für Niemand - Ben (Ohrbooten)
  5. Merci - Mal Élevé & Carlito (Irie Révoltés)
  6. More Love - Dub Incorporation
  7. Give Thanks - Culcha Candela
  8. In Control - Mishah (Mighty Vibez)
  9. Sinking Sand - Black Dillinger
  10. Steh Auf Und Komm - Ganjaman
  11. Das Alles - Mono & Nikitaman
  12. Oh Lord? - Benjie
  13. This Time - IBK Tribe
  14. What We Need - Datune
  15. Parmis Toutes Ces Lionnes - Jah Mic
  16. Ein Neuer Morgen - Kimoe & Jah Meek
  17. I Know - Uwe Banton
  18. Follow Jah Love - Conscious Fyah
  19. We Wanna Be Free - Yao Kan
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
"Give Thanks ~ One Riddim 19 Songs" is the first one riddim album on Germany's Homeground Records, the label of a.o. Culcha Candela (currently holding the number 1 spot in the German pop charts with their latest release "Hamma!", the first single taken from their just released self-titled album), Martin Jondo, Mellow Mark and Martin Jondo producer Kraans de Lutin's band and remix project Tiger HiFi". (Former) Culcha Candela producer Krutsch produced this 'Give Thanks'-riddim together with Culcha Candela's Mr. Reedoo, that is played live by Culcha Candela and spawned numerous great versions, of which most are collected on this one riddim album.

I first heard this riddim on Martin Jondo's "Are You Really Waiting (EP)" and then again was impressed when Uwe Banton included his "I Know" on "Jah Roots" album, a beautiful melancholic real horn driven riddim, well produced and now a full 19 tunes on it. Ephraim Juda, upcoming talented singer of Berlin's 40Fiyah and lately recording for both Ganjaman's MKZWO label and Stonerock Productions impresses with his "Inity Is A Must", before one of Germany's most talented reggae singers, Berlin resident, son of a German father and a Korean mother, who rose to a certain fame (at least in Germany) through his appearance as support act on Gentleman and Mellow Mark tours, and his guestspot alongside Tamika on Gentleman's "Live" for the song "Rainy Days", Martin Jondo contributes his beautiful "Guide And Protect" that wasn't included on his "Echo & Smoke" album, only on the "Are You Really Waiting (EP)" mentioned above and Martin Jondo's (and Culcha Candela's) labelmate Mellow Mark with very nice backing vocals by Ms. Flint delivering the fine righteous "The Right Way" paying hommage to Bob Marley giving him his inspiration.

Ben from Ohrbooten pays tribute to Rio Reiser, the late German actor/singer-songwriter and Ton, Steine, Scherben frontman, whose contributions to German-language music have not gone unnotiched with covers of his (in the 70s recorded) songs by Jan Delay and Lazy Youth, now uses the title of one of Rio's most influential songs "Keine Macht Für Niemand" (used even as headline during the last German elections by one of the most important weekly opinion magazines) for an excellent tribute. Mal Élevé & Carlito of Irie Révoltés really shine in the great "Merci" which of course is give thanks in French to their family and friends, followed by Dub Incorporation from St. Etienne in France combining beautiful wailing singing with one of the deepest Prince Far I like sounding deejaying you lately heard in "More Love" and of course Culcha Candela's own splendid rendition (that was on their sophomore album "Next Generation") of the tune giving this riddim and this album its name "Give Thanks" joining the fast-growing ranks of reggae artists recording a (wonderful) song for their mama.

Mishah, singer of the band Mighty Vibez from Fulda in Germany, that won the Newcomer 2006 contest of the Rototom Sunsplash in Osoppo in Italy to play on the mainstage of the festival, contributes the conscious "In Control", Black Dillinger, the in the ghettos of Cape Town in South Africa as Nkululeko Madolo born singjay impressing more and more with each release in Germany where he is living now urges us to get to Mount Zion leaving behind the "Sinking Sand" of Babylon before Ganjaman (who produced Black Dillinger's debut album "Live And Learn") adds yet another great uplifting song to his oeuvre with "Steh Auf Und Komm". Mono & Nikitaman, the excellent combination of Austrian Miss Mono and the 'German energygod' Nikitaman as always pack their harsh social criticism and upful dreams in catchy hooks and singjaying, before the in my opinion underrated deep voiced Benjie delivers the magnificent "Oh Lord" and Austria's former hip hop now dancehall group from Innsbruck IBK Tribe chip in with the very nice "This Time".

Datune, like Dub Incorporation from St. Etienne, France, deliver the fine "What We Need" followed by the third contribution from St. Etienne, "Parmis Toutes Ces Lionnes" by chanter Jah Mic. Berlin based Kimoe & Jamaican in Germany Jah Meek form a wonderful combination on "Ein Neuer Morgen" (strangely enough the title of Kimoe's debut EP, but not included on that same EP) before Uwe Banton's brilliant "I Know" is one of the standouts on this very strong one riddim album with its beautiful reassurance of his faith in Jah, before Headcornerstone frontman Conscious Fiyah addresses the same topic in his "Follow Jah Love" and Yao Kan, born in Ivory Coast now living in Lyon in France, former leadsinger of the Naphtalians, with "We Wanna Be Free" take care of closing this album in fine style. The absolute brilliant 'Give Thanks'-riddim by Culcha Candela gets the fine vocal treatment it deserves on this one riddim album that should be heard (and bought) by every roots lover (it's just a pity the clean riddim version has not been included).