Greensleeves One Drop Rhythm Album #01 ~ Nylon
February 17, 2009

Sizzla - Nylon Riddim Track list
  1. Trading Places - Busy Signal
  2. Start A New - Tarrus Riley
  3. Serious Woman - Richie Spice
  4. Looking For Me - Konshens
  5. Loose Talking - Etana
  6. In Love With Ya - Peter Heritage
  7. Dem Nah Learn - Queen Ifrica
  8. If I Could - Demarco
  9. Only God Knows - Assassin
  10. Chillin In Chile - Sizzla
  11. You Promised - Kris Kelly feat. Bay-C
  12. Getting Serious - Chuck Fender
  13. Good Times - Tony Rebel
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 14-
Very Good -Votes: 6-
Good -Votes: 3-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 1-

Total votes : 24
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 2
Taking a more than one year long break between and after releasing their two one-off one-drop one-riddim albums with Kemar McGregor's 'Triumphant' and '83' riddims Greensleeves Records seemingly have decided to return to the one-drop one-riddim album front with a more prolific and structured approach as this "Greensleeves One Drop Rhythm #01 ~ Nylon" album is the first of a new series. And the series is kicked off with a bang, as 'Nylon' is an excellent riddim, produced by Juke Boxx' Shane Brown and played for him by the Browne Bunch' veteran Glen Browne and Robert 'Dubwise' Browne alongside co-composer Bunny 'Simone' Fletcher.

One of hardcore dancehall's leading DJs at the moment Busy Signal deejays what could easily turn out to be THE roots tune of 2009, as his brilliant "Trading Places" has got it all, powerful delivery of great lyrics over a smashing riddim depicting the imaginary switch (even if only for a week) of people from the ghetto and uptown with great wordplay and in great style. Tarrus Riley delivers a very impressive song about a woman abused by her man that he wants to engourage to "Start A New", followed by Richie Spice declaring his love for a "Serious Woman" showing return to fine form with it and rising star Konshens - still forming Sojah together with his older brother Delus - cementing his status with the smooth "Looking For Me".

Reggae's premier young (soul-)roots diva Etana contributes her very strong dismissal of "Loose Talking", before Morgan Heritage member Peter a.k.a. 'Peetah' Heritage sings his strong solo-tune "In Love With Ya" and Queen Ifrica adds another excellent tune to her oeuvre with "Dem Nah Learn". And then, like Busy Signal, other dancehall stars show how comfortably they can ride this very melodic powerful one-drop as Collin 'Demarco' Edwards with "If I Could" and Assassin more singing than deejaying his "Only God Knows". At his very entertaining best is Sizzla Kalonji with the sligthly strange but very effective "Chillin In Chile".

(Beautiful) songbird Kris Kelli is joined by Bay-C from T.O.K. for the lovers (quarreling and making up) duet "You Promised" followed by the last two great tunes, Poor People Defender Chuck Fender' "Serious Times" and "Good Times", another excellent tune by Tony Rebel , who is coming on strong again these days. Unfortunately there is no clean version of the 'Nylon'-riddim included on this album and it remains silly to print 15 tracks including the hits when the actual release only contains 13 tracks ... 13 tracks however that you don't want to miss whether you are a roots, lovers or dancehall aficionado, the "Greensleeves One-Drop Rhythm #01 ~ Nylon" is a brilliant Juke Boxx production.