Greensleeves Rhythm Album #89 ~ Silent River
February 17, 2009

Mr. Vegas - Silent River Riddim Track list
  1. Dem A Pree - Mavado
  2. Rise Di K - Vybz Kartel
  3. Corrupt - Bounty Killer
  4. Whine - Busy Signal
  5. God Nah Sleep - Demarco
  6. Voicemail - Nah Linga
  7. That You Fi Run - Elephant Man
  8. Inna Mi Room - Assassin
  9. When Wi Waan - Munga
  10. Put Yuh Hands Up - Ishawna
  11. Style And Swagga - Christopher Martin
  12. Money Wi Say - Busy Signal
  13. Almighty Bless - Bugle
  14. Slow Whine - Bling Dawg
  15. Blahdas - Mr. Vegas
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 2-
Very Good -Votes: 2-
Good -Votes: 0-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 4
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
After dusting off their Greensleeves Rhythm Album Series last year with (only) 2 new volumes, here is 6 months later the (by me at least) long awaited successor 'Silent River', the great new hardcore dancehall riddim produced by Juke Boxx' Shane Brown, who had the riddim laid for him by young upcoming producer 'Icon' (I Conquer Obstacles Non-stop), based on a riff from the nu metal band Linkin' Park with rapper Jay-Z mash-up "Numb/Encore" that became a world-wide chartbuster. And though that original may have a dark vibe it is nothing compared to the production of this phenomenal dancehall scorcher.

Kicking off this 'Silent River'-riddim are two extreme tough and violent disses, with Mavado addressing Vybz Kartel in "Dem A Pree" immediately followed by the counter-action "Rise Di K" with which Vybz Kartel shows he is as much ready for the war in this feud with Mavado. Obviously the dark riddim works very inspiring as Bounty Killer delivers with "Corrupt" a tune that reaches the heights of his "Look". But it's not only the perfect riddim under war and reality tunes as Busy Signal proves in "Wine Like That" paying tribute to his girl's pum pum that is tight and fat. Demarco then takes us back to grim reality with the very strong "God Nah Sleep".

Voicemail "Nah Linga" round the pussy dem that only pretend to be friends and then a switch back to slackness is made again with Elephant Man tells the girls "That You Fi Run" the pussy first as nothing in life is free and Assassin wants to have that same pussy "Inna Mi Room" before 'Gangsta Ras' Munga delivers one of his most convincing tunes of the last couple of months with the fierce "When Mi Waan" and newcoming female singer Ishawna - the daughter of late 80s Jammys, Tubby's and Black Scorpio veteran rub-a-dub singer Don Angelo - shows that after starting her recording career at age 15 for Ed Robinson in NYC, relocating in 2005 to JA under the tutelage of Foota Hype will definitely pay-off in the near future. Ishawna impresses here with her feel-good gal power tune "Put Yuh Hands Up".

Christopher Martin shows he is one of those great singers (like DaVille, whom he reminds me off) who is at much at ease over a hardcore dancehall riddim as he is over a roots or lovers riddim and he even tackles one of DaVille's (former) favorite topics with his gallis tune "Style And Swagga". It's followed by "Money Wi Sey", Busy Signal's second tune across the riddim making clear with his reality lyrics he is one of dancehall's best DJs currently, Bugle with the very impressive "Almighty Bless" and a wonderful piece of slackness deejayed by Bling Dawg who confirms his return to fine form over the last year. The last tune on this "Greensleeves Rhythm Album #89 ~ Silent River" is the excellent reality tune "Blahdas" by Mr. Vegas, closing an album that unfortunately does not contain the clean riddim version, but this Juke Boxx production is a must buy!