Various artists album review
Gridlock '98
Jamdown Records
26 - 07 - 1998

Tracking list

  1. Hopeton Lindo/Lady Saw - Mr. Politician
  2. Anthony Redrose - Why
  3. Tristan Palmer - Blessed is he
  4. Lt. Stitchie - Speak the truth
  5. Tony Curtis - Home alone
  6. Brian & Tony Gold - Never before
  7. Capleton - Heated rush
  8. Singing Melody - Everytime I close my eyes
  9. A.R.P./Alley Cat - Nobody knows
  10. Sizzla - Pressure
  11. Yami Bolo/Capleton - Put down the weapon
  12. Lady Saw - Deh back a yard
  13. Sizzla - Explain to Almighty
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

U.S. based Jamdown Records comes with a serious collection of predominantly roots and culture titles gathered from Syl Gordon's "321 Strong" and "Cylton" label (with the exception of the Yami Bolo/Capleton and Sizzla track, which are successively courtesy of Colin "Bulby" York and Lynford "Fatta" Marshall from "Fat Eyes" production and Solgie Hamilton's "Solgie" label). Gridlock '98 mainly features a varied selection of some of the hottest contemporary artists, most of them delivering real good tunes across some of the freshest and appealing riddims to come from Kingston JA lately. Hopeton Lindo's voice and style meld surprisingly well with Lady Saw's style in an empowering cultural tune. The riddim laid by Sly & Lenky and the lyrics are both great. Beautiful, very strong... an absolute killer tune !! Next to this Anthony Redrose also utilizes the same riddim to its fullest. He skillfully delivers a solid performance with a wicked cut full of culture. Reggae vet Triston Palma is in good shape and he puts out a solid cut on the riddim with his ode to Jah entitled "Blessed is he", which is a real cultural treat. When Lt. Stitchie gets his flow going, watch out ! Producer Syl Gordon has managed to get a top-notch performance out of "the governor", who entertains with creative verses on a wicked "Declaration of Rights" riddim. This has to be one of his best tunes ever. Brian & Tony Gold, Singing Melody and Tony Curtis - whose style and voice is reminiscent of Sanchez - are responsible for the few sweet-voiced lovers tunes on this compilation set, with Tony Curtis' tune definitely being the best. Bobo dreads and two of the hottest cultural deejays to date, the prophet Capleton and ace singjay Sizzla, need no further introduction. Their contributions fully live up to expectations. Capleton once again makes his appearance for a wicked combination cut with Yami Bolo, the superb "Put down the weapon", one of the standout tracks within a truly solid album. To round off, A.R.P. & Alley Cat and Lady Saw represent the dancehall part of this set, unfortunately delivering rather mediocre tunes.

Teacher & Mr. T.