Various artists album review
Riddim Driven ~ G-String
VP Records-Walboomers Music
03 - 11 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Bounty Killer feat. Angel Doolas - Fitness
  2. Elephant Man - Making Money
  3. Sizzla - Hard
  4. Buju Banton - Freak Mi Out
  5. Beenie Man - Memories
  6. Mad Cobra - G-String
  7. Lady Saw - Dream On
  8. Lexxus - Ready 2 Flex
  9. Spragga Benz - Glad Mi Sweet Her
  10. Assassin - Surprise
  11. Wayne Wonder - Kick It With Me
  12. Ward 21 - Hey Gal
  13. Mega Banton & Delly Ranks - Pon Di Corner
  14. T.O.K. - Seems As If
  15. Bling Dawg - Give Me More
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

VP Records' "Riddim Driven" series brings a brand new bashment running for producer Lloyd "John John" James' latest riddim called the "G-String". Recorded in King Jammy's Waterhouse-based recording studio this distinctive riddim features up to the minute electro string sounds fueled by a bouncy snaking drum track and sampled guitar licks, all together creating such a haunting, dark and dangerous musical sphere that it easily could have been part of a movie soundtrack. This "G-String" collection features the cream of Jamaica's deejay crop in order to launch the next hype on the dancehall scene, and according to reports it's already creating a great buzz in Jamaica. Just like many of the current "one riddim" albums this set emphasizes the most controversial and entertaining elements of bashment runnings. So, expect a lot of songs with sexually explicit lyrics with the most notable being Bounty Killer's "Fitness", Sizzla's "Hard", Mad Cobra's title track "G-String", Lady Saw's "Dream On", Spragga Benz's "Glad Mi Meet Her" and Ward 21's "Hey Gal". However, a few decent lyrical outings are included as well, among them Elephant Man's "Making Money", Beenie Man's "Memories", Wayne Wonder's "Kick It With Me" and "Pon Di Corner" by Mega Banton & Delly Ranks, all worth of hearing.

Teacher & Mr. T.