Various artists album review
Gunz In Da Ghetto
Heartbeat Europe-Munich
21 - 11 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Gunz In Da Ghetto - Morgan Heritage feat. Bounty Killer
  2. Ready We Ready - Marley Brothers
  3. Heavenly Child - L.M.S.
  4. Look Di Gun Dem - Anthony B
  5. Revelation Come To Pass - Denroy Morgan
  6. Lion In Me - Junior Kelly & King David
  7. Watch Di System - Sugar Minott
  8. Police and Badman - Don Marshall
  9. Burn Fire - Adigun
  10. Deh Pon Street - Prince Theo
  11. Sing This One - Ultimate Shines
  12. Rasta Come Together - Warrior King
  13. Rasta Flex - LMS
  14. Wise Men - East Man Project
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

The various artists album 'Gunz in Da Ghetto' is an excellent production of the infamous 71 Records and Morgan Music Group. The album includes 12 licks across Morgan Heritage's 'Gunz In The Ghetto' riddim plus two other tracks. The infectious riddim immediately grabs you and in combination with the conscious lyrics the album makes a more than solid impression. The album features some of today's hottest roots'n'culture reggae artists such as L.M.S., Anthony B and The Marley Brothers.
The title track Gunz in The Ghetto is a wicked combination between the "Royal Family of Reggae" Morgan Heritage and the Warlord himself, Bounty Killer. The rare appearance from The Marley Brothers (Stephen, Damian and Julian) is an extra treat with Ready We Ready. L.M.S. keep getting better and better and Heavenly Child is one of the standout tracks on this CD. Anthony B puts out a decent tune with Look Di Gun Dem. UK based Junior Kelly contributes a vital collaboration with King David on Lion In Me. Reggae veteran and former dancehall master Sugar Minott's tune Watch Di System is well worth pointing out, and the same goes for Don Marshall's Police And Badman. Newcomers Adigun, Ultimate Shines and Warrior King deliver excellent pieces of work here. Another highlight on the album is the tune by Prince Theo -Deh Pon Street. The album closes with two tracks which are not across the 'Gunz In The Ghetto' riddim. L.M.S. ride a stubborn riddim on Rasta Flex and the album closes with a crucial track by The East Man Project entitled 3 Wise Men.
A truly rootical set from Morgan Heritage and Friends!

Teacher & Mr. T.