Various artists album review
Heartaches & Pain
Total Satisfaction Records
March 1 - 2004

Tracking list

  1. Jah Hammed - Heartaches & Pain
  2. JD Smooth - Jesus Loves Me
  3. Lukie D - Can't Get Away
  4. Tristan Palmer - Is It Possible
  5. Jah Mason - Raspect
  6. George Nooks - Can't Get Enough
  7. China feat. Anthony Horton - Jah Jah Come
  8. Crystal Chris & Mr. Smalls - Dem Vex
  9. Frankie Paul - Rose Garden
  10. Freddie McGregor - King of Glory
  11. Luciano - No More War
  12. David Ondrick - Tribute
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Out of New York comes this brand new compilation one riddim set called "HeartAches & Pain". The title track was originally recorded in the late seventies by Jah Hammed and was backed by the Jah Malla Band, which featured the legendary Roland Alphonso on sax. Today's updated track on the album is performed by the original singer and produced by his eldest son, Leon for his record label Total Satisfaction Records. The backing for this excellent album is provided by the following musicians; on drums: David "Robbie" Hewitt, guitar: Junior Jazz, on bass the legendary Val Douglas, keyboards: Sidney Mills and on sax: David Ondrick, who also performs the intrumental closing tune on this album.
The album gives you an outstanding selection of both lovers and rootical tunes, with boom tunes by well known veteran singers such as Freddie McGregor and George Nooks, but also blazing songs by newcomers Chrystal Chris & Mr. Smalls who put out our favorite track here Dem Vex. Raspect showcases roots singer Jah Mason in good shape delivering an awesome effort over the riddim. Frankie Paul's Rose Garden is the next outstanding tune coming out of the speakers as he delivers his sentimental lyrics across the riddim. Very enjoyable and entertaining is Can't Get Away by Lukie D, who performs this fine lovers tune with nuff nuff emotions. Solid vocal and lyrical delivery comes from promising artists China & Anthony Horton, who both fully benefit from the well laid riddim. Noteworthy and one of the efforts included here that are above par is Luciano's No More War, which is voiced over a slighty different mix (?) of the riddim.
"Heartaches & Pain" will truly please all lovers of the classic reggae sound.

Check out the website of : Total Satisfaction Records

Teacher & Mr. T.

Click on the headphone and have a listen:

George Nooks : Can't Get Enough
Luciano : No More War