Heartical Story
June 20, 2011

Heartical Story Vol. 1 - Various Artists Track list
  1. Sugar Minott - Righteous Tradition aka Trodding (Ministerio Del Dub Riddim)
  2. Alton Ellis - Peaceful Valley (Ministerio Del Dub Riddim)
  3. Little Roy - Only Jah (Slaving Riddim)
  4. Lone Ranger - Original Style (Slaving Riddim)
  5. Silvertones - Poverty (Tonight Riddim)
  6. David Hinds (of Steel Pulse) - Positivity (Tonight Riddim)
  7. Chronicle - Sweet Sensimillia (Far East Riddim)
  8. Ranking Joe - Rastaman Talk (Far East Riddim)
  9. Ernest Wilson & Kojak - True Love (Know Myself Riddim)
  10. Joseph Cotton - Gone Clear (Know Myself Riddim)
  11. Anthony Johnson - Gunshot Rock (Real Rock Riddim)
  12. Johnny Osbourne & Wayne Smith - Conscious Anthem (Real Rock Riddim)
  13. Luciano - Time Will Tell (Dub Fire aka Promised Land Riddim)
  14. General Levy - Time Dread (Dub Fire aka Promised Land Riddim)
  15. Michael Rose - Never Surrender (Fade Away Riddim)
  16. Queen Omega - Shining Light (Fade Away Riddim)
  17. BDF - Midnight Organ (Tonight Riddim)
  18. BDF - Melodica Knowledge (Know Myself Riddim)
  19. BDF - Far East Organ (Far East Riddim)
  20. Sugar Minott - Righteous Special (Ministerio Del Dub Riddim)
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 0-
Very Good -Votes: 3-
Good -Votes: 0-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 3
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
In celebration of the 10th anniversary of the Paris-based Heartical label (2001-2011), the people behind the label and sound system have compiled a cd of previously released 7" vinyl. This 20 track sampler, mixed by Dougie Wardrop (Conscious Sounds, UK), Dub Terror (Terror Studios, UK) and Darren Jamtone (Jamtone Studios), features voicings by veteran singers and deejays as well as more contemporary artists, while the relicked classic riddims -- "Ministerio Del Dub" is an exception as it is an original backdrop with a strong 'old skool vibe' -- are laid by Basque Dub Foundation aka BDF.

The cd starts in real fine style with the "Ministerio Del Dub" riddim, featuring Alton Ellis' inspired roots vocal "Peaceful Valley" and Sugar Minott's stunning "Righteous Tradition aka Trodding" and it finishes with the Godfather of Dancehall singing an exclusive dubplate version of the same song for the Heartical Sound. A brilliant relick and production of the 1973 Glen Brown & Lloyd Parkes gem 'Slaving' (also known from Sylford Walker's excellent "Chant Down Babylon" he cut in 1978 for Glen Brown) underpins Little Roy's wonderrful "Only Jah" and Lone Ranger's nice deejay version "Original Style", which comes complete with 'ribbits', 'booms', and 'boinks' and more that he made and made him famous.

The Silvertones, known from Studio One's hit song "Smile" and other hits for Treasure Isle and Lee Perry labels, show they still are one of the greatest vocal harmony groups with their wicked "Poverty" tune across the cleverly revitalized "Tonight aka Lots Of Signs" riddim. Steel Pulse singer David Hinds, who seldom records for any other than his own imprint, does a very good job as he delivers the great "Positivity" on the same riddim. Next drops the "Far East aka Jah Shakey" riddim with first Barrington Levy clone Chronicle delivering an awesome ganja anthem called "Sweet Sensimillia", before Ranking Joe bursts into the pulsating cultural deejay chat "Rastaman Talk".

Ernest Wilson originally voiced the Joseph Hoo Kim produced "I Know Myself" at Channel One in 1978, and here, together with Papa Kojak, he revisits the riddim 'inna combination stylee' with again the legendary Sly Dunbar from the renown riddim twins Sly & Robbie on drums. With "True Love" the singer/deejay duo delivers a decent effort, while Joseph Cotton's "Gone Clear" isn't bad either. Anthony Johnson shines on a do-over of his "Everyday Is A Gunshot" on the seminal Studio One riddim "Real Rock" and almost the same goes for "Conscious Anthem" by Johnny Osbourne & Wayne Smith.

Then it's the refurnished version of Aswad's mighty "Dub Fire" riddim -- aka "Promiside Land", because it underpinned that Dennis Brown tune from 1982, which was released in the UK on Aswad & Michael 'Rueben' Campbell's Simba records and in JA on Yvonne's Special -- that has worthwhile voicings from Luciano and, rather surprisingly, General Levy. The latter, known best for his speedrapped delivery over hardcore dancehall and jungle riddims, comes up with the very convincing reality tune "Time Dread", and do we need to tell you that "Luciano hardly ever fails to put out a good effort"? "Never Surrender" benefits from both the riddim and the very strong wailing Waterhouse approach from Michael Rose, and also Trinidadian female singjay Queen Omega is in very form on "Shining Light".

The last part of this compilation is made up of Basque Dub Foundation's "Midnight Organ", "Melodica Knowledge" and "Far East Organ" and Sugar Minott's dubplate "Righteous Special". These are nice additions to the former tracks, but could have been left out in favour of more vocal cuts. But let's not be nitpickers as "Heartical Story" is packed with nuff good stuff, which makes it a worthwhile compilation for any fan of well produced 'old skool' vibed material.