Heaven Bless Riddim
Ranch Entertainment
Digital Release
April 6, 2014

Track list
  1. Agent Sasco - The Mix Up
  2. Jimmy Cozier & Melissa Musique - You Could Be My Lover
  3. Red Fox - The Night Shift
  4. RSNY - Mek Wi Blaze It Up
  5. Shaggy - Vex If Yu Wah Vex
  6. Shaki - Loving That You Like
  7. Screechy Dan & Johnny Osbourne - My Sound Stands Alone
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 2/3
Amongst reggae followers it's commonly known that original Studio One riddims are very popular as a source for Jamaican producers. And thus there are countless versions of vintage instrumentals like Roland Alphonso's "Jah Shakey", Baba Brooks/Bobby Ellis' "Shank I Shek", Jackie Mittoo's "Drum Song", the Soul Vendors' "Full Up", Jo Jo Bennett's "The Lecture" and Vin Gordon's "Heavenless", to name only six. And now, in the year 2014, there's a another version of the "Heavenless" riddim, called "Heaven Bless".

The original "Heavenless" was recorded around 1968, and is often wrongly credited to Don Drummond. The confusion began when Coxsone included this track as a bonus in a late 1960's released Don Drummond compilation. However, the instrumental was a Vin Gordon aka Don Drummond Jr tune, recorded when Don Drummmond was hospitalized after after murdering his girlfriend on the new year's day of 1965 and was never released until he died in 1969.

With the release of this Shaun Pizzonia aka Sting International produced and mixed reggae juggling for Ranch Entertainment, we can add 5 more tunes to the staggaring amount of almost 400 cuts on various versions of the "Heavenless" riddim. The "Heaven Bless" gets started with Assassin aka Agent Sasco previously released single "The Mix Up". The international well known reggae dancehall artist lyrically excels with his great play on words and metaphors, making his cut the strongest effort of this compilation. New York based artists Jimmy Cozier and Melissa Musique, both also known from contributions to Shaggy's album "Out Of Many, One Music", deliver a solid combination lovers tune called "You Could Be My Lover". Due to some clever lyrics and the real nice interaction between the two vocalists, this tune truly is worth hearing.

Next comes "The Night Shift", a decent gyal tune by Jamaican veteran dancehall artist Red Fox. Emerging from the gritty streets of Far Rockaway NY, by way of small island of Jamaica, RSNY -- an outfit consisting of Yung Juggz, Drugzzzy B, Remix and H.B. -- has gained attention with their unique mash-up of Reggae, Hip-Hop and R&B. Their herb tune "Mek Wi Blaze It Up" makes a good impression and shows that the members of the 'Stoner Gang', even though they embrace their American upbringing, are deeply embedded in their Jamaican culture. International reggae star Shaggy then tackles the riddim in real fine yard stylee, while Shaki (Coke) - who Shaggy collaborated with on 2011's "Anything" ("1st Quarters Riddim") and more recently on "Need You In My Life" ("Water Gun Riddim") - delivers the sweet & nice "Loving That You Like". The set is rounded off in great style with "My Sound Stands Alone", a soundbwoy tune from veterans Screechie Dan and Johnny Osbourne.

Not that many efforts on the riddim, but enough here to keep you entertained from beginning to end. Wheel and come again!!