Various artists album review
Heavyweight 3     A Blood And Fire Sampler
Blood & Fire

Tracking list

  1. Johnny Clarke - Every Knee Shall Bow
  2. Impact Allstars - S Corner Dub
  3. U Brown - News To The Nation
  4. Vivan Jackson & The Prophets - Love Of Jah
  5. Junior Byles - Pitchy Patchy
  6. Morwell Unlimited - Morwell's Theme
  7. Horace Andy - Don't Let Your Problems Get You Down
  8. Impact Allstars (featuring Tommy McCook) - Jaro
  9. Johnny Clarke - Age Is Growing
  10. U Brown - Live As One
  11. The Prophets And Trinity - King Pharoah's Plague (discomix)
  12. Bim Sherman - Mighty Ruler
  13. Morwell Unlimited - Jungle Shuffle
  14. Horace Andy - Pure Ranking (discomix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5

The third Blood And Fire sampler -Heavyweight3 ~ A Blood And Fire Sampler- contains an excellent selection of tracks -14 in all- pulled from the last 7 releases of the esteemed reissue label Blood And Fire. The music found here probably does not need further introduction, since the label is well known for it's impeccable choice of (lost) treasures from the vaults of reggae music.
From Johnny Clarke's album 'Dreader Dread' comes Every Knee Shall Bow and Age Is Growing. Dub tracks from The Morwells are taken from their 'forgotten' masterpiece 'Dub Me' , whilst two aother dub outings, Jaro and S Corner Dub can be found on 'Forward The Bass - Dub from Randy's 1972-1975' . In my opinion one of the best deejays of the 70's, the mighty U Brown, is featured here with News To The Nation and Live As One pulled from the album 'Train To Zion (1975-1978)' .
Produced by the relatively unknown producer Dudley 'Manzie' Swaby are the tracks Mighty Ruler and Pitchy Patchy, both taken from last year released '129 Beat Street ~ Ja-Man Special 1975-1978' . There are two albums out on the Blood & Fire imprint from the man sweet as candy, Horace Andy, : In The Light / In The Light Dub and 'Good Vibes' . From the latter comes the discomix version of Pure Ranking and Don't Let Problems Get You Down. The last album which is featured here with two excellent tracks is 'Jesus Dread 1972-1977' , a double cd containing crucial cuts from producer, singer, songwriter Vivan Jackson, aka Yabby You.
Although no new tracks are found here this is a perfect and inexpensive way to acquire some brilliant music from the Blood And fire label.

Teacher & Mr. T.