Various artists album review
Herbalist / Energy
29 - 08 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Buju Banton - Brighter Tomorrow
  2. Capleton & Uplifter - Boom Down
  3. Beenie Man - Long Time
  4. Jah Mason - Never Lose The Faith
  5. Sizzla - It's All Yours
  6. Tony Rebel - Woman A Jamaica
  7. Determine - MTV/BET
  8. Anthony B - Nuttin' Ah Gwaan
  9. Youthie Dread - Them No With U
  10. Louie Culture - How Comes
  11. Capleton - Sell Out
  12. Elephant Man & Ricky Rudie - Living In Hell
  13. Assasin - Wah Gwaan
  14. Beenie Man - Model Me Gal
  15. Degree - Don't Break The Rules
  16. Sizzla - Goal
  17. Richie Stephens & Frisco Kid - Can't Do Me That
  18. Assasin - Yuh Nuh Coot
  19. Chico - Teaser
  20. Spragge Benz - Hall A Fame
  21. Delly Ranks - You Got It All
  22. Mega Banton - Girls Them Forever
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

"Greensleeves Rhythm Album #17" is the fifth split riddim album in the label's acclaimed series of hardcore dancehall riddim compilation sets. This set gathers 11 blazing pieces over the melodic and rootical 'Herbalist' riddim and some more 11 across the dancehall flavored 'Energy' riddim. These 22 tunes showcase the exquisite production talents of the production team Troy McClean & Garfield Hamilton of the First Name Music imprint. Musicians responsable for the riddims are the renown duo Steely & Clevie, Errol Hind who plays the wailing saxophone and Benjy Myaz with Angel Shalome who provide the backing vocals for the 'Herbalist' riddim tracks.
The winning formula of these compilation sets is well known by now... the usual stalwarts of today's dancehall and reggae scene alongside the seemingly countless new talents about to bust, delivering their deadly goods over a hot riddim from a much promising or established producer or production team. Artists across the 'Herbalist' riddim include Buju Banton, whose awesome Brighter Tomorrow equals Capleton and Uplifter's killer track Boom Down. Jah Mason's track is well worth spinning and is followed by Sizzla's boomshot tune It's All Yours. Tony Rebel sings about the role of the woman in Jamaica and Anthony B is definitely back with Nuttin' A Gwaan. You'll be surprised by the vocal delivery of new comer Youthie Dread who delivers Them No With U. Finally Capleton turns up with a second lick of the riddim entitled Sell Out.
The 'Energy' riddim (great bass intro !) is featured here with some of today's most in demand deejays such as Beenie Man with Model Me Gal, Sizzla who delivers the excellent ghetto youths song Goal and Spragga Benz with the hilarious Hall A Fame. Other standout efforts are Delly Ranks with You Got It All and Mega Banton's Girls Them Forever, but the tune which I keep on spinning comes from the combination Elephant man & Ricky Rudy (aka Bling Dawg) who put out a fitting dancehall rendition of Bob Marley's 'Time Will Tell' (here as Living In Hell).
The 17th instalment in the Greensleeves Rhythm series is probably one of the best !

Teacher & Mr. T.