Various artists album review
Harmony House Verse Two
VP Records - Walboomers Music
10 - 07 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. I Say It - Unico
  2. Under Pressure - Beres Hammond
  3. Run Come Love Me - Jah Cure & Jah Mason
  4. Stranger Heart - Richie Stephens
  5. Don't Play With My Heart - Beres Hammond & U Roy
  6. Get Up And Love Somebody - AJ Brown
  7. Back To The Beginning - Nicola Tucker
  8. Love Sweeter Everytime - Jah Mali
  9. Special Ladies - Red Fox, Mr. Easy & Robert Ffrench
  10. Simple Communication - Jimmy Riley
  11. Heavenly - Mr. Easy
  12. What Have I Done - Sonia Collymore
  13. You Give Me Joy - Nicola Tucker
  14. Hang On - Yogie
  15. I'm Not Amazed - Natural Black
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

In recent years the production works of Hugh Beresford Hammond aka Beres Hammond, released on his "Harmony House" imprint, have made a serious impact on the reggae scene. As they were only available on limited 7" singles many reggae fans had to be patient and wait for their appearance on a compilation set.
Last year VP Records unleashed "Harmony House Verse One", the first edition of the debut Beres Hammond's label production series and this collection of songs made a striking impact on the reggae massive. Now VP has released the follow up, simply entitled "Harmony House Verse Two". This set picks up where the first set left off, featuring impressive lovers and roots tunes by some of today's most-wanted artists and promising newcomers like Unico, Nicola Tucker, Sonia Collymore and Yogie.
Featured here is a surprising performance by roots artists Jah Mason and Jah Cure who deliver an ultra-sweet lovers tune -Run Come Love Me, Richie Stephens tackles the timeless 'Silhouettes' riddim and his tune is amongst our favorites! We're so glad that one of Jamaica's most talented singers is included on this album. We're talking about A.J. Brown, whose vocal delivery is making a great impression on us for years... why doesn't someone collects all his recent tunes and puts out an album? Furthermore there's Jahmali with a do-over of a classic Treasure Isle tune Love Sweeter Everytime across the "I'm In The Mood" riddim, followed by the trio Red Fox, Mr. Easy and Robert Ffrench with the excellent Special Ladies. The talented Mr. Easy comes up with an aching tune called Heavenly.
What more can we say..... this is truly a top-notch quality selection of pure reggae songs!

Teacher & Mr. T.