The Best Of High Fence Volume 1
High Fence Records
August 1, 2006

Track list
    'Shine Eye Gal'-riddim
  1. No More - Frankie Paul
  2. Youths Are The Future - Renegade
  3. In My Fathers House - Voice Roys
  4. Put It On - Luciano
  5. Blood Stain - Lutan Fyah
  6. Dem & Those - Al Pancho
    'Be Wise' a.k.a. 'Suparoots'-riddim
  7. Life Goes On - Renegade
  8. I'll Be Back - Nanko
  9. Close By My Side Tonight - Tammy Girl
  10. Be Wise - Jallanzo
    'There's A Better Way'-riddim
  11. There's A Better Way - Sizzla
  12. Mama Say - EQ
    'Ba Ba Boom'-riddim
  13. Tell I Who - Luciano
  14. It's Not Alright - Caddy
  15. Love, Love, Love - Africana & Renegade
    'Weak Heart Rasta' a.k.a. 'Number One'-riddim
  16. Education Is The Key - George Nooks
  17. One Flesh & Blood - Sizzla
  18. Wheel & Come Again - Frankie Paul
  19. Wolf In Sheep Clothing - Sophia Squire
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
This album compiles 45s released on 5 different riddims by the small independent Kingston, JA label High Fence Records. The first tunes are over Black Uhuru's 'Shine Eye Girl', recorded in 1979 for Sly & Robbie's Taxi label and given a fine relick here, with Frankie Paul's strong "No More" will jah children suffer followed by Renegade's "Youths Are The Future" and the excellent "In My Father's House" by the Voice Roys (a.k.a. veterans the Viceroys of Studio One fame). Luciano's "Put It On" is another strong conscious tune and this riddim really seems to bring out the best from the singers and singjays as Lutan Fyah's impressive "Blood Stain" and Al Pancho's "Dem & Those" round off a great selection of tunes over it. The second riddim is High Fence's own 'Suparoots'-riddim, on which Renegade delivers "Life Goes On" with its earwig-hookline, followed by Nanko's unfortunately only mediocre "I'll Be Back" despite the angelic female backing vocals this tune just doesn't grab me. Tammy Girl's "Close By My Side Tonight" doesn't do the trick either which might be caused on this tune by the riddim being mixed too far in front in this mix, yet Jallanzo's "Be Wise" does makes up for these two tunes with its fine sung call to fight for your rights. Sizzla's "There's A Better Way" is one of his more melodic rootsy tunes over a fine horn embellished riddim, and over the years Sizzla being melodic over a roots riddim for me has become equal with impressive and this conscious tune is absolutely no exception, with EQ's tune over the same riddim "Mama Say" from di day me born, she know seh mi a rasta being an excellent female roots & culture conscious tune. The next riddim is that of the Jamaican's 1967 Treasure Isle gem 'Ba Ba Boom', given a more than solid treatment by Luciano with his excellent tribute to the creator "Tell I Who", Caddy a.k.a. Euton Grant a.k.a. Eutonice with the beautiful song about the things he should have done for his lady "It's Not Alright" and Africana & Renegade with the great combination "Love, Love, Love" on which Africana sounds just like Barrington Levy with his sweetness countered by Renegade's convincing deejaying on this track. The last riddim included on this album is the fine 'Number One' (not the Gregory Isaacs riddim) a.k.a. 'Weak Heart Rasta' with George Nooks' excellent "Education Is The Key", Sizzla's magnificent "One Flesh & Blood", Frankie Paul's charming "Wheel And Come Again" and the great "Wolf In Sheep Clothing" by Sophia Squire finishing a set that is truly worthwile listening to and for the nu-roots enthusiasts not only listening to but ending up buying it as well.