Various artists album review
Sam Gilly's House Of Riddim Presents
Soulfire Records
July 20, 2004

Tracking list

  1. Julian Levy - Listen Up
  2. Jr. Mango - Corruption
  3. Conscious Fiyah - What Is It Worth
  4. Jahcoustix - Recall The Day
  5. Cappuccino & The Highheads- No Fiyah
  6. Ganjaman - Komm Bleib Stark
  7. Jah Meek - Say Jah
  8. Tom Lugo - Spread Some Love
  9. Danny Ranking - Ina Mi Life
  10. Paco Mendoza - Attaque
  11. Uwe Banton - Don't Cry
  12. Highhead - Bitte
  13. Natty Flo - Auf Reisen
  14. Sun One - Babylon Files
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

From St. Pölten in the heart of Austria.... yes, indeed Austria!!... comes a very interesting and surprisingly good compilation set entitled "Sam Gilly's House Of Riddim Presents". Responsible for this decent collection of tunes is Sam Gilly (drummer, keyboard player, guitarist, producer and founder of the "House Of Riddim" label), who wanted to compile an album featuring reggae artists from Austria and Germany (plus one from Bolivia). After providing a glimpse of things to come on "Riddim-CD #12", which featured Conscious Fiyah's "What Is It Worth", he recently released this 14 track cd. The live played reggae riddims are well arranged fresh originals that rock 'n'groove and sound crisp and clear. It's obvious that all artists involved fully benefit from these wicked backdrops. Conscious lyrics - some in German language and one in Spanish - and convincing vocal deliveries are the other ingredients that makes this cd truly worth of hearing. Highlights are Julian Levy's "Listen Up", Conscious Fiyah's "What It Is Worth" (a true hit song), Jah Meek's "Say Jah", Danny Ranking's "Ina Mi Life", Uwe Banton's "Don't Cry" and Sun One's "Babylon Files".
Already looking forward to the next sampler, but until then we're pretty sure that this cd will get a regular spin in our cd player.

Teacher & Mr. T.