Various artists album review
Hustle ! Reggae Disco
Soul Jazz Records-Munich
24 - 11 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Blood Sisters - Ring My Bell
  2. Derrick Laro and Trinity - Don't Stop Till You Get Enough
  3. Latisha - I'm Every Woman
  4. Black Harmony - Don't Let It Go To Your Head
  5. Family Choice - Reggae Beat Goes On
  6. Xanadu & Sweet Lady - Rapper's Delight
  7. Carol Cool - Upside Down
  8. One Blood - Be Thankful
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

"Hustle ! Reggae Disco" from the London based Soul Jazz Records crew is a smasher collection of reggae interpretations of classic disco tunes. As Lovers Rock and Rare Groove met in London in the 1980s, these disco reggae tracks are mix of UK artists such as the Blood Sisters, Carol Cool, Family Choice and Black Harmony and Jamaican artists and DJs such as Kingston's Derrick Laro and Trinity, Xanadu and Sweet Lady. The originals are Anita Ward's "Ring My Bell", Chaka Khan's "I'm Every Woman", Michael Jackson's "Don't Stop Till You Get Enough", Jean Carn's "Don't Let It Go To Your Head", The Whisper's "And The Beat Goes On", Sugarhill Gang "Rapper's Delight", Diana Ross "Upside Down", and William De Vaughn's "Be Thankful". This overlooked set of twelve inch disco killers features awesome versions such as One Blood's Be Thankful For What You've Got, the Blood Sisters with Ring My Bell, complete with a great drum'n' bass version and Black Harmony with Don't Let It Go To Your Head. Producer Joe Gibbs delivers two tracks here, which are withouth doubt the most impudent covers we've ever heard. The combination Xanadu and Sweet Lady bring Rapper's Delight, a track by the Sugarhill Gang, that was originally inspired by Jamaican toasters and the Michael Jackson cover Don't Stop 'Till You Get Enough which is brought to you by Derrick Laro (Lara ?) and the deejay Trinity.
Shameless, cheap, but interesting enough to check out !

Teacher & Mr. T.