Various artists album review
Universal Sound
April 21 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Woman of the Ghetto - Hortense Ellis
  2. Rolling Stone - The Psalms
  3. KT88 - Tommy McCook
  4. We'll Get Over It - Lloyd Parks
  5. Do It Till You're Satisfied - Skin, Flesh and Bones
  6. 30-60-90 - Jackie Mittoo
  7. Dub Organiser - Augustus Pablo
  8. Country Boy - Charley Ace
  9. End Dust - Randy's All Stars
  10. Too Late - Augustus Pablo
  11. Ghetto Guns - Randy's All Stars
  12. Black Magic Woman - Winston King Cole
  13. Soul and Inspiration - Jackie Mittoo
  14. Harvest In The East - Tommy McCook
  15. Be Thankful - Donovan Carless
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5

From Universal Sound, a division of Soul Jazz Records, comes the compilation set 'Impact!' which happens to be a fine collection of the funkiest reggae and soul to come out of Impact and Randy's records, Kingston, Jamaica. Randyís began as a record shop in Kingston and shortly progressed to running itís own studio and record label. Itís owner, Vincent Chin, later went on start VP records, the largest distributor of Reggae in the US. The album features classic, rare and even previously unreleased productions from the founder of Randy's records, Vincent Chin and then later from his son, Clive Chin.
Most of the tracks are versions of US funk and soul tunes popular in Kingston at the time (the Seventies), such as Hortense Ellis' Woman Of The Ghetto -the original cut by Marlene Shaw, and Santana's Black Magic Woman, here in a raw and rough version by Winston 'King' Cole. Augustus Pablo delivers a mellow instrumental version of Carol King's pop smash Too Late. He also contributes the well known Dub Organiser. From 1974 comes Guns In The Ghetto by the Randy's All Stars. William De Vaughn's Be Thankful gets reworked by the unknown Donovan Carless. Also present here is bass player/vocalist Lloyd Parks with his beautiful rendition of We'll Get Over It. Charlie Ace brings Country Boy, an instrumental piece by the Soul Syndicate, with Charlie chatting with an unknown person.
The CD comes in the usual Soul Jazz slipcase with sleevenotes and interviews inside.
A swinging collection of funky reggae!

Teacher & Mr. T.