In Love Riddim
Irie Sounds International
Digital Release
May 20, 2014

Track list
  1. Warrior King - Your Love Is Amazing
  2. Frankie Paul - Morning Light
  3. Stevie Face - If A No Jah
  4. Joshua Hales - Put Up With Me
  5. Fred Locks - Love You Need
  6. Kana Kiehm - Right On Time
  7. Jah Elect - When I Fell In Love
  8. Likkle Shanx - Endlessly (Acoustic Mix)
  9. In Love Riddim
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5
It seems like it's been a looooooooooong time from last we heard something from Irie Sounds International, but after looking it up, it's only been a couple of years. Towards the end of 2011 they released Fred Locks' album "Music Is My Calling" after having put out projects such as the "Lead Di Way" and "Christine" riddims, Steve Steppa's roots/lovers rock album "Justice Must Come", and Sugar Minott's 'live' album "Live In Boonville". In recent times the record label's musician/producer/general manager James "Dr. Suess" Lord has been hard at work and now there's Irie Sounds International's latest project, the "In Love Riddim"... and its great cover.

This LUSH old school vibed composition has a great sound and, at least on paper, seems to be the type of track which would play a fine backdrop to some excellent Lovers Rock. Unsurprisingly, that is the direction many of the vocalists take things in and many score with big results. Efforts from Warrior King ("Your Love Is Amazing"), Frankie Paul ("Morning Light") and Irie Sounds International staple, Fred Locks ("Love You Need"), lead a cache of big love songs which also includes the excellent "When I Fell In Love" from Jah Elect. Taking a different path is the always welcomed Stevie Face, who goes spiritual with the stirring "If A No Jah", and gives the "In Love Riddim" its biggest offering. ("Well it no tek dem nuttin fi dem sell you out. Di same mouth you feed, a it will rat you out").

A really, really nice vibe on this one and you have no reason not to pick it up.