Various artists album review
Rhythm Choice Vol. 2 ~ Intercom
Bakchich Records-Walboomers Music
24 - 06 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Red Rat - Bun Dem
  2. Beenie Man - More Prayer
  3. Elephant Man - Bun It Down
  4. Mr. Vegas - Where I Wanna Be
  5. Future Troubles - We Don't Give A F***
  6. Mr. Vegas - Pure Love
  7. Mega Banton - Inna Di Gideon
  8. Lord Issa (Natural DJZ) - Natural Intercom Megamix
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

"Bakchich Records" have unleashed their second "one riddim" album featuring 7 pieces + a short megamix for the "Intercom" riddim. Produced by Frenchie for "Maximum Sounds" the "Intercom" resuscitates Barrington Levy's 1985 smash "Here I Come" (and also Dennis Brown's "Revolution" riddim from 1984). Laid by Mafia & Fluxy, Richard 'Shams' Brownie and Frenchie one is treated to a wicked, accessible backdrop which proves the perfect vehicle for a number of truly great cuts delivered by some of Jamaica's finest and best known dancehall artists.
Red Rat is in good shape and with "Bun Dem" he definitely delivers one of his best tunes. For this effort he utilizes a more mature performing style which in the end proves more enjoyable and entertaining than the poppy hilaric style that put his name on the dancehall reggae map. Beenie Man crowns this bashment selection with an irresistible performance. Crying for "More Prayer" Beenie Man as Ras Moses delivers his lyrics in a style reminiscent of recognized "Fireman" Capleton. Also the irrepressible Elephant Man delivers an above average effort in his own inimitable style. Then Mr. Vegas, who contributes two cuts. "Where I Wanna Be" displays Mr. Vegas' singing abilities to full effect as, for example, he did before with his successful cover version of Gabrielle's "Rise". With his next cut, the solid "Pure Love", Mr. Vegas returns to his well known singjay style. Deejay Future Troubles - who emerged in the mid-nineties when his single "Kung Fu" became a huge Jamaican hit - drops a nice effort "Inna Di Gideon" is a surprisingly strong effort from Mega Banton, one of his best tunes to date. This compilation set rounds off with a megamix gathering all cuts in a 4 minutes and 18 seconds lasting mix.
"Rhythm Choice Vol. 2 ~ Intercom" provides a vital bashment selection, although definitely too short in playing time.

Teacher & Mr. T.