Rhythm Streetz Series #3 ~ Invasion Riddim & Maroon Riddim
Downsound Records / In The Streetz
July 4, 2005

Track list
  1. Hail The King - Fantan Mojah
  2. Motherland Calling - Richie Spice
  3. Jah Is Greater - Luciano
  4. Teach - Jah Mason
  5. Everyday - Norris Man
  6. Free - Sizzla
  7. Conga Man - Jah Cure
  8. Bun Dem - Anthony B
  9. What Do You Say - Junior Kelly
  10. Talk Black Marcus - Mr. Perfect
  11. Maroon Instrumental - Bongo Herman & Beze
  12. Hungry - Fantan Mojah
  13. You're So Fine - Anthony B
  14. False Pretense - Norris Man
  15. For The Best - Sizzla
  16. Call On Jah - George Nooks
  17. Invasion - Capleton
  18. Misunderstanding - D.Y.C.R.
  19. Praises - Bascom X
  20. D.C. - Fantan Mojah, Sugar Minott & Military Man
  21. Invasion Instrumental - George Miller, Donald Dennis & Michael Adams
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Byron Murray & Clifford 'Mr. Vegas' Smith' In The Streetz label releases in their Rhythm Streetz Series - following the most successful 2004 one drop riddim "#1 - Drop Leaf" produced by Donovan 'Vendetta' Bennett a.k.a. Don Corleon (who is Lorna 'Breakfast In Bed' Bennett's nephew), selector Fire Links' controversial (haters call it circus-techno, I prefer extremely danceable, completely crazy yet infectious) riddim, the "#2 - Chaka Chaka" and DJ Sunshine's sophomore riddim "#4 - Real Life" - in their independent one riddim album series "Rhythm Streetz Series #3 - Invasion & Maroon Riddim", inexplicably a tad later than the fourth volume - seemingly harder to get, but as always relying on the immaculate service of Carlo of Münster's Irie Records recordshop and mailorder I've got it - and a two riddim album, featuring two more one drop riddims that made huge waves in the dancehalls: 'Invasion' & 'Maroon'. Produced by Andrew Prendergast & Josef Bogdanovich a.k.a. Black & White of Downsound Records this set opens with the former Jamaican chart topper "Hail The King" by one of last year's most prominent newcomers Fantan Mojah, as one of the 10 vocals over the impressive acoustic Nyahbinghi riddim 'Maroon' featuring Bongo Herman's percussion alongside Beze's guitar. Richie Spice (who at Cologne's Summerjam two weeks ago was a bit of a disappointment live for me - and several others I spoke) delivers the beautiful "Motherland Calling" before the absolutely stunning "Jah Is Greater" by Luciano, and Jah Mason's excellent "Teach". Norris Man's partly vocodered (still something far more exceptional for a roots than a dancehall tune) "Everyday" is very much the tune Sizzla - featuring some of his high pitched vocals - would deliver on a very fine day, and is followed by Sizzla himself, who is in very fine form on the great I've Got To Set Myself "Free". On the cover it is mentioned that all songs have been recorded and mixed at Downsound Records in Kingston Jamaica, except the vocal following: the still imprisoned Jah Cure's "Conga Man" for which the beautiful vocal has been recorded in Spanish Town Prison. Anthony B also features the cock crowing in "Hail The King"'s intro at the start of his 'ghettoman anthem' "Bun Dem". Junior Kelly convincingly delivers the angry "What Do You Say", before (Mr.) Perfect delivers the excellent absolutely brilliant "Talk Black Marcus" before this treasure is unveiled in its pure "Maroon Instrumental" version. The second riddim on this set has made an even bigger impact in the dancehalls, as 'Invasion' was backing Fantan Mojah's brilliant definite breakthrough tune "Hungry". Laid by Firehouse Crew's drummer George Miller and bassplayer/keyboardplayer Donald Dennis alongside Michael Adams instead of Paul 'Wrongmove' Crossdale on keyboards, this fabulous reworking of the Tennors' 1967 'Pressure & Slide' Studio One riddim, also known (after the 1978 Sugar Minott Studio One scorcher) as 'Oh Mr. DC' i.e. District Constable, now renamed 'Invasion' has spawned a number of hits also collected on this album. Anthony B contributes the fine lovers tune "You're So Fine" on which the huge backing vocals by Pam Hall, LMJ and the Dean Fraser Girls on these recordings are well heard. Norris Man's "False Pretense" and Sizzla's "For The Best" are solid tunes, followed by George Nooks' less convincing "Call On Jah" (maybe it's the feeling that Dennis Brown would have delivered a greater version of this tune), and one of the other hot favourites in the charts and the dancehalls on this riddim, the tune giving its name to it, Capleton's excellent "Invasion". And although the combination of D.Y.C.R.'s voice and delivery often irritates me, his very entertaining "Misunderstanding" is one of my personal favourites on this riddim. Bascom X' "Praises" is a fine tune, that is followed by another big tune and another of my favourites, the remake of the Sugar Minott tune "D.C" with the veteran mastersinger himself singing alongside Fantan Mojah and Military Man. This riddim is featured as the "Invasion Instrumental" as well to finish a set with killer tunes on two killer riddims. Yet another must have, that is if you don't have all the 7"s already.