Jah Golden Throne
Zion High Productions
April 25, 2012

Jah Golden Throne - Various Artists Track list
  1. Chet Samuel - Empress Omega
  2. Glen Washington - Fall On Me
  3. Tippa Irie & Lloyd Brown - Make It Work
  4. Lutan Fyah - Race Of Life
  5. Cornell Campbell & U-Roy - Babylon Yuh Wrong
  6. General JAH Mikey - Set A Way
  7. Jahdan Blakkamoore - World Needs Love
  8. Arkaingelle - Y Should Yee
  9. Lloyd Brown - Just So That You Know
  10. Pressure - Culture Inna Yuh Face
  11. Prezident Brown - Towerful
  12. Marcia Ball - Nowhere To Run
  13. Messenjah Selah - Life Is To Live
  14. Mr. Mention - Showers Of Blessings
  15. Toussaint - Crown I Got
  16. Jah Bless - Highway To Zion
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 2-
Very Good -Votes: 2-
Good -Votes: 2-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 6
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5
The US-based reggae production house Zion High Productions has made a name for itself during the last few years with quality releases such as Messenjah Selah's "Breaking Babylon Curse", Ras Attitude's "Holding Firm", Yami Bolo's "Rebelution", and the "Red Razor" riddim. David "Jah David" Goldfine from Zion High Productions works closely together with associated producers Alfred "Tippy" Laurent from I Grade Records and Andrew "Moon" Bain from Lustre Kings (forming the Zion I Kings producers group), who are always a guarantee for niceness and can by now look back on a number of worthwhile releases from Midnite, Turbulence, Lutan Fyah, Perfect, Jahdan Blakkamoore, and Niyorah to name only six.

This brand new compilation called "Jah Golden Throne" is another welcome release from Zion High Productions. It features a careful selection of artists including established names as well as talented newcomers, who deliver their conscious tunes across contemporary original roots reggae riddims played by real musicians. Until now we had never heard of Chet Samuel, the one who kicks off this collection of tunes. Some research learned us that he's in music business since the early '90s, plays guitar in Burning Spear's band Young Lions, and has released his first solo cd called "Say My Name". Here he makes a very good impression with the solid "Empress Omega", in which he sometimes sounds a bit like Luciano.

Then it's time for internationally well known artists such as Glen Washington, Tippa Irie & Lloyd Brown, Lutan Fyah, and Cornel Campbell & U-Roy (their first collaboration in their enduring career) to deliver their goods. All of them come up with worthy efforts as one might expect regarding their status in the reggae arena. Lutan Fyah's "Race Of Life", underpinned by an awesome bass line, is a real winner, but also "Babylon Yuh Wrong" by Cornell Campbell & U-Roy can be ranked amongst the best efforts of this album. Both Glen Washington's "Fall On Me" and Tippa Irie & Lloyd Brown's beautiful "Make It Work" deserve a big thumbs up as these are solid efforts.

General JAH Mikey's "Set A Way" benefits from a great riddim track, featuring experienced musicians like Earl "Chinna" Smith, Dean Fraser and Nambo Robinson. Jahdan Blakkamoore's "World Needs Love", with its funky groove and soulful vibe, fully showcases this artist's exceptional skills and talent. The mesmerizing "Y Should Yee" by Arkaingelle is an outstanding tune, worth hearing over and over again. Also the second part of this compilation brings us enough entertaining efforts with Lloyd Brown's "Just So That You Know", Prezident Brown's "Towerful" (coming across a familiar sounding riddim with nice sax play by Dean Fraser), Marcia Ball's "Nowhere To Run", and Toussaint's "Crown I Got", the album's lead track, being our favourite tunes. Sax player JAH Bless rounds off this set in fine style with the instrumental "Highway To Zion".

Take a deep breath after the final track and then start playing this cd all over again! It's worthwhile!