Various artists album review
Linval Thompson Presents... Jah Jah Dreader Than Dread
Majestic Reggae/Munich Records
25 - 08 - 1997

Tracking list

  1. Wailing Souls - You hold the handle
  2. Linval Thompson - Jah Jah dreader than dread
  3. Freddie McKay - A message
  4. Freddie McGregor - Jah help the people
  5. Welton Irie - Come we just a come
  6. Viceroys - Come closer
  7. Wayne Wade - Humble man
  8. Triston Palmer - Rubadub session
  9. U.Brown - Rock to the riddim
  10. Sammy Dread - Follow fashion
  11. Follow the dub
  12. Freddie McKay - Lonely man
  13. Wayne Wade - Round the world
  14. Round the dub
  15. Linval Thompson - Six Babylon
  16. Six dub
  17. Jah help the people dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

Another essential addition to the revival series from Munich Records own reggae label "Majestic Reggae". No slackness and no badness to be found, just roots and culture produced by Linval Thompson. Most of the cuts selected are of the highest premium, thus making this a fairly impressive collection of great tunes from a producer/singer/songwriter who is a perfect example of the almost forgotten roster that's gone to make up reggae music. This compilation - covering the years 1979-83 - gathers prime cuts from a number of respected vocal groups, vocalists and deejays as well as some wicked heavy dub versions. All tracks were recorded at Channel One Studio, rhythm by Roots Radics. This is a superb document delivering you some of the best from "Linval Thompson Sounds" !

Teacher & Mr. T.