Jah Shaka Presents ~ The Positive Message
Greensleeves-Groove Attack
October 20, 2009

Track list
  1. Felt We Felt The Strain - Keith Hudson
  2. The Rastaman - Earl Sixteen
  3. Jah Love Is With I - Johnny Clarke
  4. Slave Driver - Dennis Brown
  5. I Love King Selassie - Black Uhuru
  6. Love And Only Love - Fred Locks
  7. Never Stop Fighting - Johnny Osbourne
  8. Do You Remember - Eek-A-Mouse
  9. Protect Them - Norris Reid
  10. Hell A Go Pop - Cultural Roots
  11. Look Youthman - Barrington Levy
  12. Bad Days Are Going - Johnny Clarke
  13. Perilous Time - Mystic Eyes
  14. None A Jah Jah Children No Cry - Ras Michael
  15. Kingdom Rise Kingdom Fall - Wailing Souls
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Greensleeves Records have started 'exploiting' their backcatalogue by handing several well-known producers and artists the task to compile CDs (or 7"s box-sets). Something that can easily lead to compilations with over-anthologized tunes nobody really needs, but... one of the UK's most respected soundsystem veterans avoided that trap and thanks to the Zulu Warrior, Jah Shaka we get to share his "Positive Message". Collected on this CD are the - in 1979 as one of the first 12"s by Greensleeves Records released - "Felt We Felt The Strain" by Keith Hudson, together with Johnny Clarke's "Jah Love Is With I" and the both on the Laser and his own UK DEB label at the same time released excellent take on Bob Marley & the Wailers' "Slave Driver" by the Crown Prince of Reggae Dennis Emmanuel Brown. Fred Locks' (alongside the Creation Steppers) contributes the for Lloydie Coxson's Tribes Man label recorded "Love And Only Love" that was released around the same time and luckily also included is "Protect Them" by the underrated and underrecorded Augustus Pablo protégé Norris Reid.

A seldom heard but great Henry 'Junjo' Lawes production is the wonderful "Hell A Go Pop" by Cultural Roots from 1984 and also Johnny Clarke's self produced upful "Bad Days Are Going" and "Perilous Time" by Mystic Eyes a.k.a. Mystic I, produced by Linval Thompson (and originally released with a Trinity deejay version on Greensleeves Records) are true roots gems that you won't easily find somewhere else. Much more often heard but a true anthemic classic is Ras Michael & the Sons Of Negus seminal "None A Jah Jah Children (No Cry)", completing the nine tunes not included on the limited edition 6x7" boxset that has already been released. A total of 15 (or if the not on the promo copy included Hugh Mundell tune "Can't Pop No Style" makes it onto the final pressing even 16) wonderful roots classics, compiled by the legend in his own right Jah Shaka from South London. Even some collectors might still have to buy this CD, everyone else for sure should!