Various artists album review
Jah Son Invasion
October 27, 2003

Tracking list

  1. Over And Over - Bobby Sarkie
  2. Rockers Time - Barrington Spence
  3. Black Girl - Joy Card
  4. Spreading All Over - Jerry Harris
  5. Whenever I'm Happy - Tyrone Evans
  6. I Who Have Nothing - Jah Skerta
  7. Pipe Piper - Azul
  8. Jah Is My Only Guide - Ras Makkonen
  9. New Sensation - Auxumite
  10. Sometime Girl - Sugar Minnott
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

Around 1980, London-based Bullwackies fan Ed Brennan circulated amongst his friends a homemade cassette of his own favourite Wackies productions. In turn, Lloyd Barnes made his own selection from this Pirate's Choice - adding several debut cuts, but retaining Ed's title and much of his artwork (omitting the barcode which he had snipped from a can of drink!). Like the Coxsone re-appropriation, this makes for a superlative compilation. Lloyd Barnes trumps Ed Brennan throughout, kicking off with a minimalistic beat, featuring the high voice of Bobby Sarkie of The Immortals on "Over And Over", before teaming Joy Card's "Black Girl" with a previously unreleased singjay version by Barrington Spence "Rockers Time". Other highlights include the soulful "Spreading All Over", the great rendition of the Leiber/Stoller classic "I Who Have Nothing" by Jah Skerta, Clive Hunt's reading of Wayne Jarrett's "Darling Your Eyes" "Pipe Piper", Joe Auxumite's interpretation of "New Sensation" (by Wackies songwriting regular Andrew McCalla), and Sugar Minott singing beautifully over an exclusive horns mix of his "Sometime Girl" 12". In fact this album only includes highlights. 'From over 150 singles and 20 albums these 10 extracts are showing you the quality and range of Jah Reggae music', as the cover puts it..