Journey Riddim
Dangerzone Production / Sobe Entertainment
January 2, 2009

Track list
  1. Journey - Jah Cure
  2. Ride Or Die - CéCile
  3. Traitor - Morgan Heritage
  4. Rise Ghetto Youths - Queen Ifrica
  5. Hope The Law - Tony Rebel
  6. Sow Life Seeds - I-Octane
  7. Show Off - Jigsy King & Tony Curtis
  8. Travelling - Lutan Fyah
  9. No Love - Anthony B
  10. Girl - Jr. Reid
  11. Poochie Loo - Cutty Corn
  12. Swear - Pinchers
  13. Meant To Be - Lukie D
  14. Plant It - Jigsy King & CéCile
  15. Journey Version - Delmar 'Della Danger' Drummond
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : -
Finally this smashing 'Journey'-riddim from the Dangerzone a.k.a. Danger Zone camp and Sobe Entertainment has been released officially. Bought at Münster's Irie Records - one of the few specialist reggae shops that not only provides a truly reliable mail-order outlet but which is still a fine shop you can actually visit as well - this is the impressive follow-up of the "Riddim Driven ~ Jam Down". Though maybe not overall not as outstanding as the 'Jam Down'-riddim and the tunes across it this is still a superb one riddim album .

Opening this album (of course) is Danger Zone's main artist Jah Cure with the very fine "Journey", followed by Danger Zone's first lady CéCile with the strong "Ride Or Die" and Morgan Heritage contributing one of the best tunes across the riddim "Traitor". Queen Ifrica's "Rise Ghetto Youths" is a lyrically very strong tune with a great chorus, but somehow her delivery of the verses is less convincing than you'd expect from her and "Hope The Law" is another lyrically extremely strong tune by her tutor Tony Rebel.

Arrows Recordings' protégé I-Octane delivers the absolutely smashing "Sow Life Seeds" before Jigsy King & Tony Curtis deliver the impressive combination "Show Off". Then Lutan Fyah delivers one of the standout tunes across this 'Journey'-riddim with his "Travelling" and Anthony B is in very fine form as well on "Hope The Way" followed by Junior Reid's atypical (as he's not your average lovers rock singer) but very strong "Girl". Dangerzone's young gun Cutty Corn excels with "Poochie Loo", Pinchers is as strong as he's been lately on "Swear" and "Meant To Be" is a wonderful lovers tune by Lukie D. Jigsy King & CéCile contribute the last vocal on this one riddim album with their great ganja combination "Plant It".

Unfortunately Frisco Kid's "Done Dat", proving he's back in form, the newcomers Ras Fraser - Phillip Fraser's son - & Cutty Corn - with his second tune across the riddim - combining on the superb "Trod", Singer J's heartfelt "Break Free", newcomer singjay Lion Cub with "True Love", Fantan Mojah's convincing and fierce plea for "No War" and Edge Michael, born as Oral Mark Durloo and son of Melzeta McIntosh - the younger sister of legendary reggae superstar Peter Tosh -, with his perfectly smooth delivery of the upful "We All" are not included on this album. But the clean "Journey Version" of this excellent successor of Danger Zone's 'Jam Down' is on this one riddim album that truly deserves to be heard and bought.