Various artists album review
More Reggae
Sevens Entertainment
10 - 10 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Sanchez - Julie On My Mind
  2. Hopeton James - Big Girl Now
  3. Frankie Paul - Special Love
  4. Dennis Brown - Call Me
  5. Andrew Wright - This Morning
  6. Glen Ricks - Thinking Of You
  7. Horace Andy - I May Never
  8. Gregory Isaacs - For A Matter Of Time
  9. Lukie D - Close Your Eyes
  10. Singing Melody - If I'm Crazy
  11. Mighty Diamonds - Mr. Big Man
  12. Ernest Wilson - Natural Lover
  13. George Faith - Send A Message
  14. Steve Machette - Wanna Be Loved
  15. Barbara Jones - Satin Sheets
  16. Conrad Crystal - When Are You Coming Home
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4

"More Reggae" contains 16 tracks drawn from producer Bunny Gemini's vaults. His approach is similar to that of for example Bobby "Digital" Dixon : take some vintage riddims and let some well voiced vocalists perform their tune.
Most tunes found here are in the lovers rock vein, performed by well known vocalists like Sanchez, the late great Dennis Brown, Gregory Isaacs and Frankie Paul. These names need no further introduction as they have been very successful throughout the years. On the other hand the album features some lesser known artists such as Steve Machette, Conrad Crystal and Andrew Wright, but they also put out some decent tunes.
Noteworthy tracks are Hopeton James' Big Girl Now, a tune across Studio One's classic "Love Me Forever" riddim, Horace "Sleepy" Andy's I May Never and Lukie D with Close Your Eyes, which utilizes the Melodians' classic "Come On Little Girl" riddim.
"More Reggae" is a licked compilation album from producer Bunny Gemini.

Teacher & Mr. T.