Various artists album review
CD / 2LP
14 - 09 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Capleton - Roughest King
  2. Sizzla - Perform
  3. Elephant Man - Mek Them Chat
  4. Beenie Man - Send Them Come
  5. Lukie D - Girls Anthem
  6. Lexxus - Shake It
  7. Ward 21 - M 16
  8. Zumjay - Like That
  9. Danny English & Egg Nog - Steppin' In Da Club
  10. Hawkeye - Ding Dong
  11. Italee - Gossie Gossie
  12. Desperado - Bun 5.0.
  13. Madd Anju - So Hard
  14. Ce'Cile - Thinking Of It
  15. Determine - Prepare For Me
  16. Alozade - No Freak
  17. Mr. Phang - Hit Them In Style
  18. Keke Flint - Hot Girls
  19. Taz & Black Pearl - The Game
  20. Andre "Suku" Gray, Paul "Wrongmove" Crossdale & Frenchie - Jumbie Rhythm
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

"Jumbie", the 43rd installment in the "Greensleeves Rhythm Album" series, comes courtesy of producer Frenchie for "Maximum Sound Productions" and was co-created with Andre "Suku" Gray the very talented deejay/producer of Ward 21 and production heavyweight Paul "Wrongmove" Crossdale. Frenchie, originally hailing from Paris, France, and since his emergence in the early nineties known for his strong interest in the hardcore dancehall side of things, has established his name in the past decade with innovative and 100% original "Maximum Sound" riddims such as "The Itch", "Space Invader", "Fuzzy" and "Desert Storm" which were voiced by some of Jamaica's finest dancehall stars including Beenie Man, General Degree, Elephant Man, Sean Paul, Mr. Vegas and Red Rat, to name a few. With his latest bashment riddim called "Jumbie", Frenchie treats the dancehall fan to a breezy Latin-infused riddim with tuff catchy drum beats ridden by some of Jamaica's biggest names in music business and much promising newcomers. Lexxus' cut for the riddim, "Shake It", is really good and perhaps the best track featured on this album. However, don't overlook tracks like Ward 21's "M 16", Hawkeye's "Ding Dong" and Determine's "Prepare For Me", because they all running it real close. Other deejay tunes that are also worthwhile efforts are "Roughest King" by the mighty Prophet Capleton, Elephant Man's "Mek Them Chat" and Madd Anju's "So Hard". With furthermore Zumjay being in good shape and the sweet-voiced singer Lukie D plus the ladies Ce'Cile and Italee providing some welcome vocal variation, you can't go wrong with this spooky one riddim set.

Teacher & Mr. T.