Jump Off!
CD / 2LP
December 6, 2005

Track list
  1. Realest Thing - Vybz Kartel
  2. U Lying - Elephant Man
  3. Cardinal Point - Idonia
  4. Rise It Up - Bounty Killer
  5. Bun Fi Bun - Shano
  6. Right Here - Wayne Marshall
  7. Put It On Me - Ice Man
  8. Oh Girl!!! - Voicemail
  9. Touch - Terro 3000
  10. Cho Cho Cho - Elephant Man
  11. Mouth Bad Man - Anthony B
  12. Fully Fraud - Black-er
  13. Thief!!! - Macka Diamond
  14. Can't Get We Down - Mr Vegas & Lexxus
  15. Have A Good Time - CÚCile
  16. Do So Fah - Kiprich
  17. Gal A Mi Yard - Future Troubles
  18. Nah Play Wid Gal - Hawkeye
  19. Bring Di Money - Xsytment Gang
  20. Jump Off Rhythm - Carlton 'Renegade' Williams, Christopher Birch & Preston Onfroy
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Although Preston Onfroy enjoyed acclaim for both his 'Bedroom' and 'Party Time'-riddim, his 'Wrought Iron' and 'Sars' and last year's 'Panic'-riddim went unnoticed, and while the Irie FM studio-engineer is not the most prolific producer, he is delivering quality riddims and producing quality tunes over those riddims every time for his In Time Music. This time it's a hardcore dancehall riddim in the style of 'Stepz' and 'Military', built with the assistance of Xsytment Gang's Carlton 'Renegade' Williams for the concept and for the instrumentation Big Yard's Christopher 'Longman' Birch. One of the hot sellers in the record shops on this riddim opens the album, Vybz Kartel's "Realest Thing" popularly called The Stammer Song, an excellent and in stuttering style very well delivered piece of slackness, followed by Elephant Man's very enjoyable "U Lying" and newcomer Idonia's impressive surprise hit on the riddim "Cardinal Point". Shano's "Bun Fi Bun", Wayne Marshall's "Right Here" and Ice Man's "Put It On Me" are all more than decent tunes, and vocal trio Voicemail's "Oh Girl" is yet another great tune by them. Terro 3000 (the brother of Dem Ballaz' Damian Hall if I'm correct) delivers the fine "Touch" followed by the second Elephant Man tune on the riddim, the strong "Cho Cho Cho". Anthony B is lyrically as strong as his delivery on "Mouth Bad Man" and Black-Er's "Fully Fraud" is a fine tune, followed by Macka Diamond's reality tune "Thief!!!", leaving us wondering when Greensleeves are going to release her debut album that's now been longer on the shelves than Lady Saw's "Striptease" has been at VP ... Mr. Vegas & Lexxus deliver the entertaining combination "Can't Get We Down" before CÚCile delivers the nice party tune "Have A Good Time". Kiprich contributes the excellent "Do So Fah", confirming the status he gained with his singles and recently released album "Outta Road" as a force to be reckoned with. Future Troubles' "Gal A Mi Yard" is showing that he is delivering more good tunes in the last 2 years than ever since his debut 8 years ago, yet the title 'comeback kid' must be awarded this year to the man following him, Hawkeye, who without ever really having been away suddenly busted back into the scene, and reaffirms that with "Nah Play Wid Gal". Xsytment Gang ride the riddim laid with the assistance of one of their DJs to full effect on the last vocal track of the album "Bring Di Money", but this being the last vocal leaves you wondering why 2 of the major tunes on this riddim are lacking on this CD, Capleton's excellent "Jump Off" giving the riddim its name and the Beenie Man collaboration with US rapper Bone Crusher "Everybody Knows Your Name", and although the clean version of this very impressive "Jump Off Rhythm" is included, that doesn't completely make up for those omissions. Nevertheless a hype riddim that shouldn't be lacking in your collection.