King Jammy's At Channel One 1977-1979
Kingston Sounds
February 23, 2007

Track list
  1. Anthony Johnson - More Love in the City
  2. King Everald - Life can be Easy
  3. Junior Reid - No Darkness Tonight
  4. Dennis Brown - Them Fight I
  5. Wayne Smith - Come On
  6. Sugar Minott - Not For Sale
  7. Echo Minott - Bad Company
  8. Puddy Roots - Went Down Town
  9. Anthony Johnson - Yah Wi Deh
  10. Half Pint - Money in the Bank
  11. Black Crucial - Conscience Speaks
  12. Pad Anthony - Take You To the Dance
  13. Early B - Learn Fi Drive
  14. Mighty Rudo - Just Cool
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4
King Jammy is perhaps best known for evolving reggae to the digital sound that ruled the second half of the 1980's. But his roots go back to the 1970's working alongside King Tubby in those heady days when the King was still Prince Jammy, and the sounds made were called Roots Rock Reggae.

Anthony Johnson opens this compilation album with More Love In The City riding the classic "No No No" riddim, a great start of this fine set. The next tune, King Everald's Life Can Be Easy, is also a true roots classic, with wise lyrics about life. Next up again a massive track, No Darkness Tonight, this time from Junior Reid. Reggae legend Dennis Brown is also featured here. He delivers Them Fight I across a sweet riddim. With the next tune the "Stalag" riddim bounces from the speakers as Wayne Smith delivers his classic gem entitled Come Along.

Sugar Minott's I'm Not For Sale is a nice sing-a-long tune. Echo Minott and Wayne Smith is a nice combination on the heavy bass tune Bad Company. Puddy Roots with the roots piece Went To Town also fits perfectly on this compilation cd. The second tune from Anthony Johnson, Yah Wi Deh, is again a shining roots song, which goes great with Half Pint's Money In The Bank. Black Crucial's Conscience Speaks on the "Conscience Speaks" riddim is another nice choice cut for this album. Pad Anthony's Take You To The Dance is great to hear and certainly justified to see it featured here! Early B, of course, is simply an artist who had to be included on this album. Here he's present with Learn Fi Drive, a heavy roots cut riding the "Boxing" riddim. This massive roots collection rounds off with Mighty Rudo's Just Cool.

A wicked collection to bring back memories.