Kingston Love Step 2
November 12, 2006

Track list
  1. Leroy Brown - Money Barrier [Skully Version]
  2. Gentleman - Dem Gone
  3. Willi Williams - Why 2 K
  4. Fat Freddys Drop - Roady (The Next Burger Edit)
  5. Bim Sherman - Mighty Ruler (Extended)
  6. Winston McAnuff & The Bazbaz Orchestra feat. Mack Law - Reggae On Broadway
  7. Spectacular feat. Turbulence - High Grade
  8. Horace Andy - Do You Love My Music
  9. Doniki feat. Kulcha Knox - Poor Man
  10. The Viceroys - Love Is A Key
  11. African Brothers - Hey Girl
  12. Manjul feat. Tiken Jah Faloly - Fanga Den
  13. Rhythm & Sound b/w Williams & Jah Cotton - See Mi Yah b/w Dem Never Know
  14. Clinton Fearon - Who Cares
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4
Discograph is a French label that started in February 1998 for: "the development of French electronic music". Through its distribution division, French artists that otherwise were only known in France are now known throughout the world. The label has moved from their French house origins to other territories like jazz, world music. pop, rock and reggae. Of course nowadays they have artists from all over the world signed. Just like the sun returns so is reggae, the first published volume of this collection was 2 years ago, here is the follow up.

The primary purpose of this album is not to bring out the popular tunes we've heard over and over again but to enable you to discover great artists who unfortunately did not grow in the shade of the palm trees of the sweet island Jamaica. With these 14 tracks this disc makes us travel from the Caribbean Sea through the European continent to the African continent.

The album starts of with a fine skully version of the Money Barrier song, followed by a familiar tune from Gentleman Dem Gone on the "Dem Gone" riddim. The roots influenced Why 2 K is a nice one drop song performed by Willi Williams. Ready (the Nextman burger edit) is a great song from an artist, who is unknown to most people, Fat Freddys Drop. Mighty Ruler, the extended version of a great tune from the seventies, is produced by Dudley Swaby over the "Tripe Girl" riddim. The next tune is one that you don't hear often, it's a mix between Classic music and Reggae vibes, Winston McAnuff & The Bazbaz Orchestra did a fine job mixing those 2 very different kinds of music. Irie Ites records made this sweet combination with Spectacular and Turbulence on their "Rocking Time" riddim.

From 2006 back to the 70's with Horace Andy who really shines on his Do You Love My Music. The matching cut with Doniki and Kulcha Knox on the Poor Man song. The lovely romance Love Is A Key was produced by Linval Thompson. As the tour around the world continues we come along the African Brothers with again a lovers tune Hey Girl. As expected on a world tour we will come along a tune that's not sung in English Fanga Den, nonetheless it's a great tune featuring Manjul and Tiken Jah Faloly. Those are followed by one of the finest tracks of the album with a lot of great artists See Mi Jah b/w Dem Never Know turn up your bass and enjoy this tune to the max. The album ends with Who Cares a relaxing acoustic song.

The album songs date back from the 70's until now containing many exclusive and crucial songs, making you discover the new heads of reggae international.