King's Army Resurrection
EverEasy Music
CD / Digital Release
January 12, 2016

Track list
  1. Peetah Morgan - Guns & Armor
  2. Sizzla - Love Alone
  3. Wayne Wonder - Better Days
  4. Javada - Blood Sweat & Tears
  5. Gramps Morgan - Part Time Soldier
  6. Tanto Metro & Devonte - I'm A Fighter
  7. Shuga - Good Suh
  8. Capital D - Herbalis
  9. Mischieve - Will Never Love Again
  10. Nitty Kutchie - In Love With You
  11. Yellowstone - Not Afraid
  12. Delly Ranx - Jah Never Fails
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
The album "King's Army" was a 2012 project by the Dimmie Joe Muzik label. Other releases by the label are the "Lucky Coin Riddim" and the "Boom Weh Riddim". EverEasy Music Entertainment re-releases the 2012 project and renames it "King's Army Resurrection". It's a project led by Rob Darling who re-mixed and mastered it at the Harms Way Studio. It features some of Jamaica’s best known vocalists like Sizzla, Wayne Wonder and Delly Ranx, alongside talented newcomers Shuga and unknown deejays Mischieve and Javada. The mid-tempo dancehall riddim has strong hip-hop and r&b influences, and aims and the younger dancehall generation.

Brothers Peetah and Gramps Morgan of Morgan Heritage deliver powerful, strong efforts. The Gramps Morgan tune is also included on his album "Reggae Music Lives". Next comes reggae icon Sizzla with a roots tune called "Love Alone", sending out the universal message that Love conquers all, no matter what. Indeed! Singer Wayne Wonder's vocal style matches the riddim quite well as he tells us not to give up. Unknown deejay Javada sounds like a true Buju Banton clone, but his tune "Blood, Sweat & Tears" doesn't fail as he tells us that hard work will lead to results in life. Female artist Mischieve tells about her broken heart and that she will 'never love again'. US based deejay Capital D started his career in 1992 when he opened for Capleton, John Holt, U-Roy and Early B at an event in Hartford, Connecticut. With his tune "Herbalist" he bigs up the holy herb marijuana.

Shuga (here still performing under the name Brown Sugar) won the influential talent show Digicel Rising Stars in 2009 and since then she has gone from strength to strength, teaming up with the likes of Donovan Germain (Penthouse), Computer Paul (Bootcamp) and Busy Signal. "Good Suh" is about strong independent women, and the top tune here. While on tour with Beenie Man and the Shocking Vibes crew in 1997, deejay Tanto Metro and singer Devonte decided to perform together and since then one of dancehall's most entertaining duo's have enjoyed a growing international fanbase due to their energetic stage shows and the appealing contrast of Tanto Metro's deejaying and Devonte's smooth vocal delivery. "I'm A Fighter" focuses on their determination to go on and never give up, excellent cut! Both, newcomer Yellostone, a sound system selector and deejay and veteran Nitty Kutchie contribute lovers tunes.

Nice 'one riddim' set.