Album review
King Stur-Gav Hi Fi Lee Unlimited
Rasslin/Live & Learn

Tracking list

  1. Dillinger - Cocaine
  2. Fathead - Obeah me
  3. Ringo - Special request - all stylee
  4. Echo Minott - Mad over me
  5. Michael Irie - In a style - that no right
  6. U Roy, Charlie Chaplin & Josey Wales - Intro / Love a whey me what me have to get
  7. Billy Boyo - Helena
  8. Winston Hussey - Tonight is the night
  9. Dickie Ranking - Penny for your touch
  10. Beenie Man - Tell me whey you know
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 3/4 Sleeve : 4

The term "dancehall" is not only used for a place where the music is primarly heard (which can also be an enclosed open space into which gigantic speakers and record-playing equipment have been placed), but also indicates a particular stage of reggae that began in the late seventies, when styles more and more were developed in the dancehalls themselves. There both singers and deejays would perform over pre-recorded riddims, often with lyrics commenting on the dance and prowess of the singer or sound system. By the time of this recording in the early eighties dancehall music had developed into an "art" form and this album is a prime example of the fashion of the day, when two sound systems would clash for supremecy.
In this case U Roy's (King) Stur-Gav Hi Fi sound system can be heard in competition with Lee's Unlimited. Deejays and singers from both stables deliver their lyrics over rock hard dancehall riddims like "Pain", Fat she fat", "Three blind mice" and "A love I can feel", which belonged to the hottest riddims of that period. Included is a performance of a very young Beenie Man doing his thing across the "Three blind mice" riddim - a rarity. Value for money for anyone wanting to sample the excitement of the eighties dancehall, especially as the sound quality is good for this sort of recording.

Teacher & Mr. T.