Various artists album review
Know Your Past
Morgan Heritage Family
Heartbeat Europe
22 - 05 - 2002

Tracking list DISC 1 - Compilation cd plus CD-ROM section
  1. Morgan Heritage - Don't Haffi Dread
  2. Morgan Heritage - Same Old Song
  3. LMS - Living Spiritual
  4. Morgan Heritage - Buss Up Barriers
  5. Morgan Heritage - Reggae Road Block
  6. Morgan Heritage (feat. Cat Coore of Third World) - Know Your Past
  7. LMS (feat. Morgan Heritage) - Saddle Up
  8. I'll Do Anything For You - Denroy Morgan
  9. LMS - Never
  10. Morgan Heritage feat. Bounty Killer - Gunz In The Ghetto
  11. Morgan Heritage Family & Friends - Mount Zion Medley
  12. Morgan Heritage - Protect Us Jah
  13. Morgan Heritage - Don't Haffi Dread (live)
Tracking list DVD
  1. Morgan Heritage - Don't Haffi Dread
  2. LMS & Morgan Heritage - Saddle Up
  3. Denroy Morgan - I'll Do Anything For You
  4. Morgan Heritage Family & Friends - Mt.Zion Medley
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

In recent years Morgan Heritage have managed to attract notable interest with their high quality "roots and culture" music, which actually made this unique band one of the most prominent representatives of the "roots revival" in the nineties and the new millennium. They have delivered plenty of excellent singles and albums on a variety of labels including Bobby "Digital" Dixon's "Brickwall" and "Digital B" label, Donovan Germain's "Penthouse Records", King Jammy's "Jammy$" imprint and Phillip "Fatis" Burrell's "Xterminator" label. They also built out their activities as they - in association with their father Denroy Morgan - started to produce and release music on their own label with considerable success. Almost simultaneously they released the third volume of the Morgan Heritage Family & Friends series and this set, which happens to be an interesting set of selections from the impressive Morgan Heritage Family catalogue with the inclusions of a special CD-ROM section with 4 video clips from the Royal Family Of Reggae (same as DVD video clips). The DVD contains four videoclips featuring: Morgan Heritage, L.M.S. Denroy Morgan and Friends (Capleton, Jah Cure, Ras Shiloh, Bushman) packed as a double cd, with a full colour booklet containing the story of the Morgan Heritage Family.
The cd contains some of the best outings of the family from passed years. All of the tunes found here all well known gems from their catalogue and drawn from several hit abums such as Don't Haffi Dread (2 tunes), More Teachings (2 tunes), Protect Us Jah, their breakthrough album for Bobby Digital, 2 excellent outings from Morgan Heritage Family & Friends Vol. 1 and tunes from the LMS sets Zion Gates and Reality Check. The inclusion of the four video clips makes this a perfect "best of the best" set from the Royal Family of Reggae!