Various artists album review
Lead With The Bass II
Universal Egg
25 - 07 - 1997

Tracking list

  1. Centry - Release the chains
  2. Centry - Version
  3. Jah Free - Rydim
  4. Jah Free - Version
  5. Iritation Steppas - Kilimanjaro
  6. Disciples - Revolution
  7. Disciples - Revolution
  8. Armagideon Sounds - Weakheart drop
  9. Armagideon Sounds - Version
  10. Iritation Steppas - 'Kilimanjaro' version
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5

"Lead with the bass II" is an impressive and nearly psychedelic compilation, which is well worth a listen for all (U.K.) dub lovers. Trying to describe dub may leave your brain in the same state as dub itself - stripped to the essentials with only echo and nuance to guide you. The music on this album is burning and mindexpanding, highly recommended whilst smoking and passing around the chalice. This dub attack more than fills the bill, building a textured complex weave of echo effects and percussive resonance. As stated on its frontcover, this album truly delivers a "Hardcore Dub Sound System Style".

Teacher & Mr. T.