Various artists album review
Let's Groove Compilation No. 1
10 - 05 - 1997

Tracking list

  1. Lukie D. featuring Determine - Between the sheets
  2. Benjy Myers - Give up your love
  3. Richie Stephens - Ebony eyes
  4. Gregory Isaacs - Yesterday
  5. Frankie Paul - Tonight
  6. Wayne Wonder - I don't want to lose you
  7. Mikey Spice - Shower me
  8. Anthony Watson - Soon come
  9. Leroy Sibbles - Can't take you back
  10. Frankie Paul - Erase the days
  11. Benji Myers - Don't ask my neighbour
  12. Cocoa Tea - Waiting in vain
  13. Mikey Spice - One last memory
  14. Anthony Watson - For you
  15. Nadine Sutherland - Rainbow
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3

Nothing but lovers rock here. This compilation album brings you a fine selection strictly Jamaican lovers tunes from first- and second- generation singers of the genre with the sympathetic production techniques of Bobby "Digital" Dixon. Leroy Sibbles, who was one of the first to master the lovers approach, and Gregory Isaacs (in his heydays called "the lonely lover") are joined by more recent converts like Mikey Spice, Benji Myers and Anthony Watson. Love songs are of all times and these tracks update the sound while sticking to the theme.

Check out the Digital Impact album : 17 cuts on the Solomon riddim.
Check out the Boogie Down album : 13 excellent licks of The Wailer's 'Mellow Mood' riddim.

Teacher & Mr. T.