Various artists album review
CD / 2LP
22 - 12 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Degree - Yeah Man
  2. Elephant Man feat. Wayne Marshall - Hot Girls (The Club)
  3. Mr. Vegas - Five "W"
  4. Frisco Kid - Thumbs Down
  5. T.O.K. - Bun Friend Enemy
  6. Sean Paul - Shake It
  7. Bounty Killer - High Grade Forever
  8. Spragga Benz feat. Sugar Slick - Clear To Me
  9. Buccaneer - Oh My God
  10. Ward 21 - Don't Push It
  11. Hawkeye - La, La, La
  12. Gabriel - The Powers
  13. General B - The Girls We've Got
  14. Pacemakers - Bad Man
  15. Delly feat. Christopher - Dem Vex Now
  16. Looga Man - Vision
  17. Zumjay - Hot Gal
  18. Lukie D - Goody Bang Bang
  19. Natty Chris & Greg Hines - Lemme See The Hands
  20. Nadine Sutherland - Sumthin' More Than You
  21. Kurrup, Mr. Vegas & Sean Paul - Eye For Eye
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

The "Greensleeves Rhythm Album # 7" entitled "Lightning" is produced by hitmaker Jeremy Harding for "2 Hard Productions". Many contemporary Dancehall fans will remember Jeremy Harding as the young producer who broke big with Beenie Man's huge smash "Who Am I", and also as the driving force behind one of this year's most anticipated Dancehall talents, Sean Paul. So far the riddims Harding created as well as several pieces for the riddims have made a serious impact among Dancehall fans worldwide, and "Lightning" will be no exception as there are nuff thunderous pieces over the riddim to dominate the dancefloors and airwaves from east to west and from north to south. The dust has hardly settled on this brand new riddim as Greensleeves Records already drop this one-riddim album bringing together Jamaica's most talented deejays and singers. "Lightning" is a relentless assault of no less than 21 cuts over the riddim, most of them only just hitting the streets on 7" single. The mighty Bounty Killer, Degree, Mr. Vegas, Ward 21, Elephant Man, Buccaneer and Sean Paul are just a few topnotch names gracing this album as well as newcomers such as Pacemakers, Gabriel, Zumjay and Christopher, all giving their own unique brand to the "Lightning" riddim. So much prime cuts on this set that we have to stick to the most hitting and wickedest deliveries. These definitely include Degree's striking effort "Yeah Man", the devastating combination tune "Hot Girls (The Club)" by Elephant Man & Wayne Marshall, Sean Paul's awesome "Shake It", the excellent "Clear To Me" by Spragga Benz & Sugar Slick, the thunderous blow Don't Push It" by Ward 21, Pacemakers' "Bad Man", "Dem Vex Now" by Delly Ranks & Christopher and "Eye For Eye" by Kurrup, Mr. Vegas & Sean Paul. Tony Curtis and Nadine Sutherland contribute noteworthy pieces showing that this is also a fitting riddim for singers, although the line-up features mainly singjays/deejays.

Teacher & Mr. T.