Various artists album review
Reggae On The Rocks - Live & Direct
What Are Records ?
23 - 05 - 1998

Tracking list

  1. Michael Rose - Party next door
  2. Culture - International herb
  3. Pato Banton & The Reggae Revolution - Groovin'
  4. Toots & The Maytals - Pressure drop
  5. Michael Rose - How you fi do that
  6. Pato Banton & The Reggae Revolution - Don't sniff coke
  7. The Original Wailers - Who the cap fits
  8. Culture - Jah rastafari
  9. Michael Rose - General penitentiary
  10. Toots & The Maytals - Treat me good
  11. Pato Banton & The Reggae Revolution - Never give in
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 5

'Reggae On The Rocks - Live & Direct' is the successor of the well received R.O.R.X. album from 1997. This album was recorded at The Red Rocks Amphitheatre on August 23 & 24, 1997, and gives a wide audience a chance to hear well known singers and bands performing some of their best tracks and the interactions between performer and audience. Michael Rose's performance includes a fine version of the Black Uhuru cuts 'Party Next Door" and 'General Penitentiary'. Joseph Hill c.s. are pleading for the legalisation of ganja in the classic 'International Herb' track, and deliver a medley in 'Jah Rastafari'. Toots and The Maytals draw from their extensive back catalogue, performing the uptempo 'Pressure Drop' and 'Treat Me Good'. Pato Banton, superbly backed by The Reggae Revolution, licks the Rascals' 60s hit 'Groovin' and warns the youths not to "sniff the coke, but only smoke sensimilla".
If you love live recordings check out this great set, which captures the right mood and vibes !

Teacher & Mr. T.