Lolly Pop Rhythm
Vibes Stream Production / All Access Entertainment
August 22, 2005

Track list
  1. Right Track - Luciano
  2. So In Love - Jah Mason
  3. So Amazing - Turbulence
  4. Lolly Pop - Isha Blender
  5. Rapunzel - Ghandi
  6. Want A Man - Lady G & Macka Diamond
  7. Fine True Love - Perfect
  8. My Girl - Everton Blender
  9. Hill & Gully Ride - Pinchers
  10. I Got It Made - George Nooks
  11. Sandy - Bragga, Commando & True Fya
  12. Burning Fire - Anthony B
  13. Luv U Baby - Tony Rebel
  14. Plain Clothes Rasta - Queen Ifrica
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
The 1957 Barbie Gay Doo-Wop classic that fans of Jamaican music all know so well in the 1965 Chris Blackwell produced Beverley's (JA)/Fontana (UK) version by Millie Small featuring Ernest Ranglin "My Boy Lollipop" is the inspiration for the D. Heslop & F. Escoffery produced tunes released on Kingston's All Access Entertainment, till now mainly known for their distribution (for a.o. Germaican Records). Luciano adds another excellent uptempo track to the ones he released lately, though strictly conscious it's a dancefloor filler, followed by the very fine lovers tune "So In Love" by Jah Mason and Turbulence's equally worthwhile "So Amazing". Isha Blender takes on the original version succesfully in "Lolly Pop" staying very close to Millie Small's voice and delivery. Ghandi's plea to come back "Rapunzel" is very entertaining as well, and all tunes have that pleasant upful vibe, which can also be said about the humourous combination by female veteran Lady G and hot female star Macka Diamond "I Want A Man". Perfect is another singjay like Jah Mason and Turbulence inspired by this riddim to drop a great entertaining upful lovers tune, and his "Fine True Love" certainly succeeds in making you want to move your feet to it. Everton Blender chips in with "My Girl" before veteran dancehall superstar Pinchers, who hasn't release a significant tune ever since the start of this 21st century and even before that, returns with the entertaining "Hill & Gully Ride", wonder whether he will be heard more soon. George Nooks is in fine form on "I Got I Made" but Bragga, Commando & Fyah don't add enough extra fire in their twist on the original my girl "Sandy", followed by Anthony B's fine "Burning Fire" and Tony Rebel's not completely convincing "I Luv U Baby" before Derrick Morgan's daughter Queen Ifrica delivers the last tune on this album "Plain Clothes Rasta", meaning there is unfortunately no clean version included. Nevertheless a set of enjoyable tunes on a classic riddim that boosted Jamaican music commercially 40 years ago.