Love Zone Volume 1
Danger Zone Records
Digital Release
March 18, 2009

Track list
  1. Freddie Mcgregor - Walk With You
  2. CÚCile - Waiting
  3. Chuck Fender - Coming Home
  4. Pinchers - Seen & Done
  5. Mikey Spice - Stay With Me
  6. Glen Washington - Feel Your Love
  7. Mikey Spice - Give A Little Love
  8. Cutty Corn - Lucky Day
  9. Buju Banton - Love Needs
  10. Buju Banton - Loosing You
  11. Luciano - Love Child
  12. Jigsy King & Tony Curtis - I'm Sorry
  13. Frankie Paul - Crystal Ball
  14. Sizzla - My Love
  15. Sanchez - Why Did You Leave
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 1-
Very Good -Votes: 3-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 1-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 6
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
In 2000 Danger Zone Records started its mission to bring "unification through music" by fusing all the different genres of music, and since then label has managed to become one of the most popular record labels out of Jamaica, with top class productions, from an artist roster that boasts some of Jamaica's finest and most prolific acts including Buju Banton, Jah Cure, Luciano and Sizzla to name four. Most successful releases so far included Jah Cure's hit singles "Jamaica" and "Sticky" and the reggae riddims "Jam Down" and "Journey".

"Love Zone Volume 1", the latest compilation from Danger Zone Records featuring the smash "Jam Down" and "Sunshine" riddims as well as unreleased tracks and a third (unknown) riddim, treats the listener to tunes that deal with matters of the heart. This set not only includes songs by artists like e.g. Freddie McGregor, Frankie Paul, Glen Washington and Sanchez, who have delivered many great love songs throughout their career, but there are also lovely contributions from people like Buju Banton, Sizzla and Pinchers.

Freddie McGregor opens in fine style with "Walk With You", once again showing that he hardly ever delivers a disappointing effort. It comes across an real nice (unkown) riddim, which also underpins Sanchez's very nice "Why Did You Leave", Mikey Spice's solid "Stay With Me", and Glen Washington's matching "Feel Your Love". CÚCile's "Waiting" (she also did the lead track for the riddim), Pinchers' "Seen & Done", Buju Banton's "Love Needs", Cutty Corn's "Lucky Day" and the combination tune "I'm Sorry" by Jigsy King & Tony Curtis are on the popular "Jam Down" riddim and -- except for the Cutty Corn piece -- were previously released on VP Records' "Riddim Driven ~ Jam Down". Even though it was released in 2007 it's still a joy to listen to this riddim and its vocal versions.

Cuts for the "Sunshine" riddim were only available on seven inches so those who aren't into vinyl or missed the initial releases are given a second chance to purchase Luciano's wonderful "Love Child", Sizzla's solid "My Love", Chuck Fender's outstanding "Coming Home", Mikey Spice's enjoyable "Give A Little Love", and Buju Banton's extensive "Losing You", with the "Gargamel" in an unusual role as a singer.

All in all an entertaining collection of sweet and tender declarations of love!