Various artists album review
Mad Ants
CD / 2LP
18 - 02 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Elephant Man - No Hail Me
  2. Capleton - Warn Dem
  3. Wayne Wonder feat. Surprize - Got To Be
  4. Bounty Killer, Wayne Marshall & Fahrenheit - The Struggle
  5. Mad Cobra - Boom Wuk
  6. Vybz Cartel & Wayne Marshall - New Millennium
  7. Sizzla - Hype
  8. Lukie D - Roll Out
  9. Ward 21 - No Apologies
  10. Frisco Kid - In The Fire
  11. Beenie Man - Goodas Gal
  12. Bling Dawg - Rule The World
  13. Alozade - Out A Dat
  14. Kolly C & Tami - Paralyse
  15. Vybz Cartel - Sen On
  16. Roundhead - Monster World
  17. Desperado - Floss Pass Dem
  18. Kid Kurrupt - Seh Dem A Rasta
  19. Regan - Weh Seh Come Fah
  20. Shian Coore - Mad Ants Rhythm
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

New 'hit-man' Donovan "Vendetta" Bennett is the next budding production talent who is getting international exposure through "Greensleeves Rhythm Series". Number 33 in this much anticipated series features the young producer's infectious "Mad Ants" riddim. This bass-heavy, booming street beat recently kicked up a storm in the dancehalls and still proves to be a guaranteed dancefloor filler when it hits the decks. Thus there's already hype and demand for "Mad Ants" with limited copies of 7" singles on the street. For those who want to have all the licks in one place, this "Mad Ants" set is a good purchase. Furthermore it is definitely the most economical way to get them all without the hard search. Filled with wall to wall talented artists including mainstays such as Beenie Man, Bounty Killer, Wayne Wonder and Capleton as well as promising newcomers Desperado, Regan and Vybz Kartel, this album features twenty slammin' pieces. No real weak tune around, however when it comes to the repeat treatment there are some tracks that truly deserve it. These include Elephant Man's "No Hail Mi", Capleton's awesome "Warn Dem", Sizzla's ferocious "Hype", Ward 21's No Apologies", Beenie Man's "Goodas Gal" and Seh Dem A Rasta" by Dutty Crew member Kid Kurrupt. The same goes for the wicked combination tunes ""Got To Be" by Wayne Wonder and his deejay alter ego Surprize, Vybz Cartel & Wayne Marshall's "New Millenium" and the best piece of them all, the modern day anthem "The Struggle" by Bounty Killer, Wayne Marshall & Fahrenheit.
"Mad Ants" is a very good riddim dropping nuff entertaining cuts to make this set well worth checking out.

Note : The trackorder on the sleeve is incorrect!!

Teacher & Mr. T.