Reggae For Humanity - Volume 1
Manila Jeepney
June 5, 2005

Track list
  1. The King Is Amazing - Peter Hunningale
  2. Jerusalem - Dona V
  3. Guide Us - Tony Roots
  4. Father - JD Smoothe
  5. Just As I Am - Luciano
  6. Just Cooling - Frankie Paul
  7. You Say No - Carlton Livingston
  8. Fly The Banner - Mykal Rose
  9. Sunburnt Faces - Chrisinti
  10. Stepping Out - Tony Roots
  11. Talking To Jah People - Sylvia Tella
  12. Dark Skin Girls - JD Smoothe/Rusty Mac
  13. Me & My Man - Karen Vibes
  14. Down Deh - Dona V
  15. Guide Us Dub - Russ D & The Disciples Band
  16. Dark Skin Dub - Sir Sidney Mills, Danny Miller & Ronald Butler
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
The very fine productions on - Filipino living in Brooklyn NY, hence the name - Raul Calaguas' Manila Jeepney label are finally available for the non-vinyl buyers as well, as Manila Jeepney have released the 2-riddim album "Reggae For Humanity - Volume 1", implying a promise that more of their productions will be released as riddim albums in the future. This album features two very fine riddims, the originally in September 2003 released and reviewed 'Dark Skin Girls'-riddim, built by Sidney Mills in his NYC Living Room Studios based on the 1978 Castro Brown produced classic UK lovers rock hit "Black Skin Boy" by 15-16-17, on which a second batch of tunes was released and reviewed by Teacher & Mr. T here in November 2003, and the June 2004 released 'Guide Us' riddim built by UK dub stalwart Russ D and his Disciples Band. All tracks on this album have been reviewed and highly praised in the reviews mentioned above and rightfully so, except Dona V's take on the 'Guide Us'-riddim, the call for resistance "Down Deh" sung with his smooth voice that so closely resembles that of Cocoa Tea, fitting in easily within the other excellent tunes on the riddim. It's only justice that both riddims are highlighted with the "Guide Us Dub" of Tony Roots' "Guide Us" and "Dark Skin Dub" of Dona V's "Jerusalem" to showcase the strength of both. If you didn't buy the 7"s, this album is a must have for any lover of great quality reggae music.