Words Come To Past ~ Marcus Garvey Riddim
Black Arrow
February 11, 2005

Track list
  1. Life Don't Take No Holiday - Tony Rebel
  2. Africa Yes - Sizzla
  3. Man A Bongo - Natty King
  4. Essence Of My Life - Queen Ifrica
  5. Truth & Rights - Jimmy Riley
  6. Dem Want Food - Muziah
  7. City Of Justice - Sam Carty
  8. Gone Are The Days - Bunny Brown
  9. Keep Blazing - Maccannan
  10. Choice Of Colours - Ruddy Thomas
  11. Jamaica Good To Me - Yasus Afari
  12. Marcus Garvey - Bunny Rugs
  13. Dub Garvey - Mafia & Fluxy + Calvin
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 3/4 Sleeve : 3/4
This 'one riddim' album features the riddim of the classic Burning Spear tune "Marcus Garvey" recorded in 1974 for producer Lawrence Lindo a.k.a. Jack Ruby. The tunes on this extremely nice relick laid by Mafia & Fluxy in their London studios are produced by Rodguel 'Blackbeard' Sinclair - Tappa Zukie's brother - and two more Sinclair siblings Eddie and Calvin for Blackbeard's Mr. Tipsy label. It was a great riddim first time around, and this superb relick only adds to its magic. With an in-form Tony Rebel kicking it off with "Life Don't Take No Holiday", Sizzla showing his voice and delivery can be so much more enjoyable when he's given roots riddims with the excellent "Africa Yes", Natty King's "Man A Bongo" and legendary Derrick Morgan's daughter Queen Ifrica delivering the "Essence Of My Life" , you already experience the Sinclairs hitting the jackpot with these tunes. Former Uniques and Sensations member Jimmy Riley delivers the very solid, very soulful "Truth & Rights" before Muzziah singjays in typical 'angry bobo style' "Dem Want Food". More niceness from veterans is delivered by Sam Carty, who recorded solo and as frontman of Jamaican Festival Song Contest winners the Astronauts in the early 80s for Blackbeard, and whose falsetto reaches great heights in "City Of Justice", followed by former Chosen Few member Bunny Brown in "Gone Are The Days" and the to me unknown Maccannan's great "Keep Blazing". Former Dynamic Studios engineer and UK-Reggae Charts topping Ruddy Thomas is not only responsible for the mixing of the tunes on the album, but also contributes an excellent take on Curtis Mayfield & The Impressions "Choice Of Colours", which of course in reggae will always be remembered for the Heptones 1970 Studio One recording. Dub poet Yasus Afari shows he still has the voice and the flow in "Jamaica Good To Me", before one of the greatest voices in reggae (not withstanding an 'overdose' already on this album) former Third World lead singer Bunny Rugs covers Burning Spear's "Marcus Garvey" respecting the original but with enough of his own touch. Very unfortunate that is already the last vocal of this album, followed by the more instrumental than dub "Dub Garvey" showcasing how brilliant this riddim has been rebuilt by Mafia & Fluxy. This album is an absolute 'must have' for any roots aficianado and more in general every reggae enthusiast.