Massive R&B Hits In Reggae
Smart Move Records
August 14 , 2010

Massive Track list
  1. Hakim - Watcha Say
  2. Irie Love - Doesn't Mean Anything
  3. Ahmir feat. Savana - Knock You Down
  4. Hakim feat. YT - Replay
  5. Tajh feat. YT - Down
  6. Jordaine Bailey - I Am
  7. Rakel - Obsessed
  8. Ahmir - Like I Never Left
  9. Lee Francis - So Sick
  10. Adele Harley - Million Dollar Bill
  11. Winston Francis - I Call It Love
  12. Lee Francis - Wait For You
  13. Tajh - Year Of The Lover
  14. Tessanne Chin - I Want To Know What Love Is
  15. Shyam Moses - Heal The World
  16. Lee Francis - Whatever
  17. Lee Francis feat. A20 - Wait For You
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
London based Smart Move Records from producer/singer Lee Francis comes up with a smooth collection of R&B covers entitled 'Massive R&B Hits In Reggae'. Reggae music has been influenced by soul, r&b and hip hop for a long time. Although the practice of covering soul and r&b hits is rejected by reggae purists, it's obvious that there are a lot of reggae fans who love to listen to these tunes.

This set contains some really big tunes from very recent times, except for a couple of songs such as the Michael Jackson cover Heal The World and Foreigner's 1984 smasher I Want To Know What Love Is, which is covered in fine style by Tessanne Chin. Great reworking!

The album starts with Whatcha Say by Hakim. Hakim's version uses vocodered vocals, a technique that is extremely popular nowadays (although there are also people who find it very annoying to listen to), and some other songs on the album use that same technique as well. The song originally was the debut single by American recording artist Jason Derülo and topped the U.S. Billboard Hot 100 in the United States. Irie Love follows with a very smooth version of Doesn't Mean Anything, a song by Alicia Keys featured on her album 'The Element of Freedom' (2009), with its lyrics speaking about the importance of love against materialism and fake needs. The pace goes up with Ahmir and Savana as they perform the dancehall flavoured Knock You Down. The original was done by Keri Hilson and it was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Rap/Sung Collaboration at the 52nd Grammy Awards.

Hakim and YT cover the popular song Replay from Iyaz. It topped the charts worldwide and the combined figure of the official music video and prequel video on YouTube is almost 50 million views. Tajh and YT make a good impression with Down. Jay Sean did the initial R&B cut which sold six million copies worldwide. Superstar Mariah Carey earned her 12th Platinum Single with Obsessed. Here we get treated to Rakel's version. Lee Francis himself brings us So Sick, a well known tune by Ne-Yo who recorded it for his debut album 'In My Own Words'.

Whitney Houston has given us a lot of quality songs over the decades. Ahmir takes her song Like I Never Left and comes up with a fine reggae version. Million Dollar Bill is another Whitney Houston cover. Adele Harley does a good job covering this wonderful tune. Former lead vocalist of The Commodores Lionel Richie recorded I Call It Love in 2006. Here the song is redone by reggae veteran Winston Francis. The result is above average! Then Lee Francis steps up next and covers Wait For You, a song by former American Idol contestant Elliott Yamin. Originally it's a slow tempo ballad, but Lee Francis speeds it up and transforms it into a danceable lovers tune. In 2009 the song Year Of The Lover by R&B singer Lloyd entered the charts. Tajh does his version in good style here.

'Massive R&B Hits In Reggae' is an entertaining collection of R&B covers.